Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is the best recipe I have ever used for any cake! My friends didn't waste time finishing it up, we had to fight over the last piece! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I used the Coco Real cream of coconut from the alcohol mixer section of the grocery store and mixed that with the sweetened condensed milk. The mix was sooo much and so sweet was nervous to add all of it and I'm glad I did. I used the handle end of a wooden spoon to poke (I made a 3 layer round) and it turned out perfect. Very moist, but not wet whatsoever. I made this for my mom's birthday and she loved it. I added a little more sugar to the whipped cream and also added coconut extract to that as well. Best coconut cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very easy and good. I did a butter cream frosting and it came out good. Although might have been a little too sweet. but I was worried about the whipping cream melting during the course of our BBQ. My other complaint is the picture shows a double layered cake and with soaking the cake in the coconut cream and condensed milk... I did do two nine inch rounds I only soaked for a couple of hours then removed them and placed them in the fridge over night. They didn't get too soggy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raechel
Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Really good cake the first day, really great cake the second day! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
best coconut cake ever!!!!! everyone who trys it wants the recipe..thank you "gpain"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great Recipe very delicious, wouldn't pour the whole recipe of cream on cake...I'll use 1/2 next time, cream makes it too wet...Also make sure you take cake out of pan before pouring cream.if you don't will have problem with cake sticking to the pan..if you are making cake and it will be outside in a warm climent it's best to add a packet of gelatin to your cool whip frosting makes it thicker and won't melt as fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hoskey

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I used the coconut cream that is sweet so I did not use the sweetened condensed milk. The cake was perfect! Made the cool whip with pudding to frost it. My family likes the coconut taste but not the shredded coconut so I just added a little more coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I've made this recipe for nearly 30 yrs. My mother-in-law gave it to me shortly after I was married, and the first time I tasted it I was in love! I have changed the way I make it now though. While I used to pour the entire liquid mixture of sweetened condensed milk and cream of coconut over the cake, now I only use HALF of this mixture, and I freeze the other half for the next cake. It freezes VERY well! I've found the cake is a little lighter this way, and just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This cake was A-MAZING. I followed the instructions exactly and it came out perfectly. My brother loved his birthday cake so much, I'm going to make it for him every year! The only thing that didn't go as planned is the removal of the cake. I was trying to do a double layer but the cake was so sticky and moist (which is what makes it so good!) that I couldn't remove it from the pan. It's one of those cakes where you just cut out individual slices and go from there. I will be trying it again with a spring form pan and see how that goes. It's the best coconut cake recipe I've ever found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Amazing cake!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My whole family loved it. I used the Cool Whipped Frosting from this site and toasted the coconut flakes like suggested in other reviews. I will be making this cake for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States