Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake is AWESOME!! I made it for Easter and every one just LOVED it. I did have a problem with the milk mixture running under the cake but it was still good; next time I will poke larger holes so it can absorb into the cake instead of running under. I decorated it with green dyed coconut and scattered jelly bean "eggs" over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for Easter and it was a HIT! Everyone loved it! So moist, not cloyingly sweet, and just delicious. Easy to make too! Doesn't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was amazing! It turned out to be a homerun with the family too. I'm not much of a baker but this sure was easy enough to pull off =) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubbasmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. I bought the ingredients, and while I found coconut MILK at 3 different stores, I proceeded to hunt down coconut CREAM at a 4th store, Whole Foods. I did not read the reviews here first, as the instructions were simple and I knew that everyone in my family likes coconut. Hence, I've finished the cake this morning with the whipped cream, and proceeded to have a piece of cake, I am so disappointed that no one will be able to finish one piece of this 13 x 9 cake. I love the flavor, but entirely tooooo sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have just made the cake portion and am wondering if I use sweetened or plain coconut? If someone could let me know, I'd appreciate it. Thanks you (and fingers crossed)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this for school yesterday, for a faculty breakfast. Everyone enjoyed it and asked for the recipe. There is none left! I wish I had taken a picture-will do that next time I make it. It makes a "picture-prefect" cake and was superb! I may cut the condensed milk in half next time, as it is a really sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
OK, I need to stop eating this cake! I made it almost exactly like the original instructions except for three things: I used coconut milk instead of cream; I used egg whites instead of whole eggs; and, I baked in two 8" pans instead of a 9 X 13". The only drawback that I did not account for was the cream mixture made the cakes difficult to remove from their pans after the chilling period. So, it got a little sloppy there -- but frosting covers many cake sins! Especially this lovely, light whipped cream frosting covered with coconut flakes. And I have to stop eating this cake! Thanks to GPAIN for the recipe and to Allrecipes for highlighting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebugsmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I added lime juice into the whip cream as well as coconut extract it tasted amazing and gave it that extra lil flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My family loves this cake. It reminds us a little of my grandmother's coconut layer cake AND our favorite Mexican Food Restaurant's Tres Leches Cake rolled into one. Definitely 5-star worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Brought it for a coworkers birthday, everyone kept asking if it was ok to have a 2nd piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States