Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great cake, will make again. Instead of the frosting listed, I used extra-creamy whipped topping and lots of sweetened flaked coconut on top. I also made the cake ahead, fridged it, and on the second day after baking, served it. The flavors had really sunk in and it was awesome. My husband, who loves coconut (and is picky about it) truly liked this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Delicious! Made it today for Mother's Day and she just can't get over it! I had a slight problem because nowhere in town carries coconut cream. Instead, I read some reviews and in place of coconut cream I used 7 oz of cream of coconut and 7 oz of coconut milk. I mixed this with the condensed milk and it turned out wonderfully! Not at all too sweet! I also toasted the coconut before putting it on, just as a personal preference! This was also my first time making whipped cream but I followed the directions as is and that turned out perfect as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this cake in a 9x13 pan, I was too chicken to attempt a layer cake. In anycase, I really liked this cake. I am not of big fan of tres leches cakes, but this I liked alot. It was very coconutty, and although it was sweet, it wasn't too sweet. I topped it with the Cool Whipped Frosting from this site I did find coconut cream pudding mix and used that instead of vanilla to bring out the coconut flavor and it paired perfectly. I garnished with fresh strawberries and it was a big hit with my family. Will be making again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Incredible cake! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I made the mistake of trying to make a layer cake out of this recipe and duplicate the beautiful picture submitted by Erin. Not sure how she did it, but for me the cakes stuck to the pans and sorta fell apart. It was way to good to throw out though, so I used the bits of cake as a base layer for trifle and added fresh strawberries, more whipping cream and shredded sweetened coconut. It was a HUGE hit!! Everyone loved it and came back for seconds. This cake is so moist and delicious! I'm still rating it a 5 even though it didn't turn out perfectly for me because had I followed the original recipe and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan, everything would have been perfect. It's a big pet peeve of mine when someone deviates from the recipe and then gives it a negative rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made this cake and served it today for our Easter dessert. It was really very good and my Mother just raved about it. I do want to add that I could not find COCONUT CREAM at our grocery store but I did find CREAM OF COCONUT. These are not the same thing. I wasn't sure what the difference was but then discovered that the Cream of Coconut is already sweetened. I looked online and did find coconut cream and from what I can gather it's of a thicker consistency and would need the sweetened condensed milk to thin it out. I made my cake and had decided that I would taste the Cream of Coconut before putting it on the cake which is what I did. It was plenty sweet so I did not add any sweetened condensed milk. The brand I bought was made by Goya. It soaked into the holes just fine. I added just a splash of coconut extract to the whipped cream and I did also add the tablespoon of sugar. I also toasted some of the coconut topping. None of us found this cake too sweet nor was it soggy. It was wonderfully moist and flavored. I think my my Mother's exact words were, "Oh my, I think I've died and gone to heaven". I will definitely be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Wonderful, creamy coconut cake. Just one tip to sort out the Coconut CREAM/ Coconut MILK enigma. Some people here use these terms interchangeably. Look at the ingredients on the can, and if you see sugar FIRST, and then coconut milk (plus some other fillers) then DO NOT add the condensed milk. Just use it straight up. If you're can has the ingredients listed as: coconut milk, water, etc (but no sugar), then DO use the condensed milk to sweeten it, but even then try half a can of condensed milk first and keep tasting it until it is to your desired level of sweet. Then proceed to drizzle this over your warm cake as per the recipe. I bought both, I found coconut milk in the sauce aisle at the grocery store, it was just coconut milk and water. I also bought coconut cream in the alcoholic drink section, and it was already sweetened. I'm glad I bought both, I warmed them both up separately, and the coconut MILK sweetened with 1/2 can of condensed milk, kept the true tasted of sweet and coconut. The sweet coconut CREAM is way too sweet (because it's manufactured mainly for pina coladas and needs to offset the alcohol and pineapple juice...) So, all this to help one soul from making the mistake of adding sweet condensed milk to already overkill sweet coconut cream. Also, whip your cream with just a hint of sugar, don't try to make it sweet, sweet cream. The cake will be very sweet as is, and you can make or break it with the whipped cream. Happy baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
633 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. The cake is way too sweet, and despite using the coconut cream it wasn't very coconut in taste. I would eliminate the condensed milk as I think it over powered the coconut cream. Probably wouldn't make again as the sweetness is way too cloying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Incredible, delicious cake! And other reviewers are right, it tastes even better after a couple of days in the fridge. I couldn't find cream of coconut, so I just used another can of sweetened condensed milk and mixed in 2 teaspoons of coconut extract. It worked perfectly. Frosted the cake with Coconut-Cream Cheese Frosting, from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Best (non-chocolate) cake I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States