Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
excellent cake! i would rate as a 5 if i didn't make alterations. didn't use the sweetened condensed milk as cream of coconut is already plenty sweet enough. also didn't have any coconut extract but, of course, the cream of coconut had plenty of coconutty goodness. and lastly, the family loves toasted coconut, so we toasted a bit to go on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Although I substitued Cool Whip in place of the homemade whipping cream, this has been a huge hit with my family and friends. It has been requested at several gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sfirth
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
DELICIOUS! I only used half of the coconut cream/milk in the cake. I ended up having to trim off the edges because they were a bit soggy. After icing & spreading cocunut flakes I put the cake back in the fridge for 4-5 hours and it was a huge hit. Dinner Guests took it home with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This cake is super easy and super delicious. I used the back of a rubber spatula to punch very large holes in the cake. I added more coconut extract (1 tsp) and it tastes best served cold. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this cake for my mother who loves coconut cake. I have been trying many different recipes. My Mom LOVED this cake. She was going to take most of it to work because she didn't want to eat the whole thing, but after trying it she decided to keep it all to her self (well she shared three slices with friends). When I told her there was one more recipe I wanted to try, she said why bother? This was the best coconut cake she's ever had. I did make one adjustment...I only used about 3/4 - 1 cup of the coconut milk/condensed milk mixture. It would have been WAY too wet if I had added it all. The cake still turned out very moist and dense. I would like to try this as a layered cake next time, but not sure how that will work out because of adding the liquid to the layers might make it too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
absolutely wonderful, for a little extra kick I added a tiny drop of coconut extract to the icing. The icing was a bit bland the first time, but the second time I made the cake I put a little extra in the icing and it was wonderful. Keep it refridgerated for the the best results and to keep it from turing into soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
My fiancee, the coconut lover, gives this five stars. This turned out beautiful: incredibly moist with a lovely light coconut flavor, but not too sweet. It baked perfectly in the oven in 30 minutes. I also had the dillema of not being able to find coconut cream, so I mixed together half a can of the sweetened condensed milk and a full can of coconut milk for the cream, and I made sure I only poked holes halfway through the cake. It took me a long time to whip the cream to the right consistency, but the end result was worth it. Added a bit of coconut extract to it and only half the sugar. I made it on a Wednesday night and it sat in the refrigerator until Friday night when I made the frosting, so everyone is right about it being better eating it cold and after letting it sit for a day or two before eating. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
hands down, my favorite cake!! i make all the cakes for birthdays in our family, and 9/10 times this is requested. everyone loves it and cant get enough. i toast the coconut before sprinkling on top to add another depth of flavor and give a pretty color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
When I was making this cake, I had doubts throughout because, not only was it ugly before it was frosted (all the holes and liquid soaking in are not a very appetizing sight), but the color of the cake after it had soaked was almost questionable. However, the cake turned out to be quite a tasty surprise! I would suggest to others who make this recipe that they make the cake 2-4 days before it is eaten. The longer you allow it to sit, the better it tastes. I wasn't too crazy about it the first 2 days, but by the 4th day the cake was absolutely delicious. I frosted it with the cool whip frosting on this site as suggested by some other viewers and it was wonderful, though it did come off as slightly cheese flavored. Also, I toasted the coconut that I sprinkled over the frosting. One note, if you are using this frosting, I suggest you wait to frost the cake until the day it is going to be eaten or the night before because after it sits for awhile, it begins to taste slightly salty, which doesn't really complement the cake. Otherwise, this cake was delicious. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is an awesome coconut cake recipe - I've made it many, many times and have shared the recipe with several people as well. It's always a huge hit! I make it in a 9x13" oblong glass pan. I use a can of coconut milk (not the lowfat version) and the sweetened condensed milk. I let it rest overnight in a cool place. I frost it with a cream cheese frosting that has a carton of whipped topping folded in to it (1/4 stick of butter, 4 oz. cream cheese, half a box of powdered sugar, 1/2 teasp. vanilla and 1/4 teasp. coconut extract then fold in the whipped topping). I liberally sprinkle coconut on top - but I also toast some coconut to sprinkle on top as well. This is a great recipe - not too sweet and light and lovely coconut flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States