Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by marandam
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
absolutely amazing ...made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it ... I added colored sugar to the top which gave a Nice candy texture along with the coconut flaks all over it ..i didn't use all of the coconut cream mixture I left out about 1/4 cup as people mention ... I didnt want it to soggy and it came out great .. I prepared it the night before so it had Time to marinate and just become this delicious coconut cream Cake goodness :-) I will definitely be making this again ...... oh and chopsticks work best for poking the wholes in the cake The coconut mixture falls in perfectly .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marandam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Amazing! My husband has bragged about a coconut cake he ate many years ago that he never forgot. I have paid to have some made for him to no avail; I have made some from other recipes to no avail. Finally, this recipe did the magic. He loved it. I baked it for his birthday and success, success..He Loved it, He loved it....yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This cake is amazing will make this again yummy!!M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Tumlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I added coconut rum to the milk mixture, and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Back in April I made this for Easter. I wanted to see if it freezes well and I must say it tasted like the first day I made it. Surprisely, I did not think whipped cream would freeze well, but it did. The the moist and the whipped cream was yummy. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was nervous to make a new cake for the holiday weekend; but this cake looked awesome. This decision was great decision...this cake was a sensational hit with EVERYONE! Thanks allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written with only one change, I toasted the coconut that I sprinkled over it. I read a lot of reviews about the cake being overly sweet, but my family and I didn't think it was at all. This is definitely a keeper I will make for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Odde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have made this recipe for 5 consecutive Easter Sunday's! I do tweek it each time to my own liking when it comes to the amount of cream. COCONUT CREAM is the only thing that works in my opinion for this recipe, I do play around with the sweetness myself. I add vanilla extract and lime zest to the heavy cream. Line the cake with lime slices, I've even shaved some chocolate to sprinkle on top. To me this cake is an overnight serve, I always cream the cake ahead, refridgerate over night and frost just before dinner. It never fails to be the talk of Easter. The cake is amazing as a layered cake, DO NOT POKE HOLES ALL THE WAY! I use a kebab stick and run it half way through each cake. Then, just add some coconut and topping in the middle. Viola! hands down the best coconut cream cake recipe EVER! When you have 20 to 30 school moms begging for this you realize what a gem you have in a recipe. Clip, Print or save it to your phone. YOU WONT BE SORRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Fabulously coconutty, light and fluffy,....a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This cake is AMAZING! I made the cake exactly the way the recipe specified except for one thing. I did not pour all of the sauce over the cake. The sauce is delicious, but it's very sweet, and there is a lot of sauce. I didn't want the cake to be too sweet or mushy so I stopped pouring after I had poured about 2/3 of the sauce. I'm still giving this recipe 5 stars though because the recipe did state at the top that you didn't have to use all the sauce. Overall this cake is really good! My family loved it, and half of them don't even like coconut lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States