Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Darin Eskridge
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
After reading many of the reviews, I made this cake and many of the tips were very helpful. I've never really cooked with coconut cream or milk before, so making sense out of all the different coconut comments was a little daunting. My store only sells the sweetened coconut cream for drinks and canned coconut milk. I felt that the recipe called for the unsweetened milk and opted to stay with the recipe. My store sold no unsweetened coconut cream product though, so that must just be a problem with my store. On my first attempt, I used the entire can of coconut milk and the sweetened condensed milk. I used the entire mixture and ruined my cake with too much moisture. It was really just a sticky mess. When you open a can of coconut milk, the top half is just a heavy cream, and the bottom is the liquid milk. On the second attempt I just used the cream out of the coconut milk can and the sweetened condensed milk. The cake came out perfect. The top was still a little stick of course, but once iced you cannot tell. The inside was perfectly moist. I hope this helps someone from making the same novice mistake I did. Good luck, this cake really is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
One of my favorite cakes ever! I've made it a couple of times with just 2 minor changes. I substitute the vegetable oil for coconut oil and omit the coconut extract. It is absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I have to give this 5 stars. I made it last year for my husband's birthday with the help of my toddler. I had a three year old measuring, mixing, poking holes, and spooning goop and still ended up with a cake that was raved about on taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is absolutely the best coconut cream cake I have ever had. I made it for a family gathering and one of the cousins literally picked up the cake and hid it so that no one else could have any more!!! I have had so many requests to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Photo by marandam
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
absolutely amazing ...made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it ... I added colored sugar to the top which gave a Nice candy texture along with the coconut flaks all over it ..i didn't use all of the coconut cream mixture I left out about 1/4 cup as people mention ... I didnt want it to soggy and it came out great .. I prepared it the night before so it had Time to marinate and just become this delicious coconut cream Cake goodness :-) I will definitely be making this again ...... oh and chopsticks work best for poking the holes in the cake The coconut mixture falls in perfectly .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marandam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Amazing! My husband has bragged about a coconut cake he ate many years ago that he never forgot. I have paid to have some made for him to no avail; I have made some from other recipes to no avail. Finally, this recipe did the magic. He loved it. I baked it for his birthday and success, success..He Loved it, He loved it....yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This cake is amazing will make this again yummy!!M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Tumlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I added coconut rum to the milk mixture, and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Back in April I made this for Easter. I wanted to see if it freezes well and I must say it tasted like the first day I made it. Surprisely, I did not think whipped cream would freeze well, but it did. The the moist and the whipped cream was yummy. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was nervous to make a new cake for the holiday weekend; but this cake looked awesome. This decision was great decision...this cake was a sensational hit with EVERYONE! Thanks allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States