Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Jacqueline T
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Followed the recipe almost exactly...except i forgot to put the coconut extract in the batter. So, i just put it in the whipping cream instead. Not overwhelming. Definitely let the cream work it's way throughout the cake and let cool at room temperature before placing in the fridge overnight. Then, next day, place the whipping cream and decorate. I did toast the coconut flakes lightly. I find that it gives the cake some texture and a slight colour. People absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Very good. Would recommend leaving out the condensed milk. Cake was good to moist. Especially at bottom of pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This cake did not come out like I thought it would. The sweet condensed was way to much sugar that is mainly what I could taste. The coconut was not enough it tasted like white cake even after letting it sit over night in the fridge. I will not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eyecandy88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is a very nice and easy recipe. I did have a little trouble finding Coconut Cream - which not all stores carry - but I ended up finding it at Walmart of all places. I made this into 3 loaf pans as I was giving the cake to three different people. I mis-judged the cream/milk mixture in the first two pans and they came out overly moist, wet actually, and had less mixture for the last pan. This was actually the best - it was still very moist but more cake like. Next time, I will use less of the mixture, but I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This recipe rocks! I omitted the sweetened condensed milk and it was plenty sweet. It is moist and yummy. I added a box of coconut pudding to the cake mix and used coconut pudding in the cool whip frosting from this site. I am an accomplished baker and cook, as is my husband and he gave it two thumbs up also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
YUMMIE! Everyone so...dazzled. Made it a two layer cake like the picture. Let it cool before putting it in the refrigerator, we coconut lovers could not believer how good this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Bolin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Awesome. I did follow the other reviews to let the cake cool to room temp before pouring the cream/milk mixture over the top. I also did not use the flaked coconut. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I used coconut milk and half a can of sweetened condensed milk (didn't have coconut cream) and it was nicely sweet. It really does need to sit in the pan for a couple of days though to really allow the cake to soak up all the liquid. I made it for my husbands birthday, everyone loved it and even ate the piece that fell on the floor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
SOOO delicious. everyone loved it! I didn't use the whipped frosting though. I made a butter cream frosting because I was decorating. :) it's so moist and delicious! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is the best recipe I have ever used for any cake! My friends didn't waste time finishing it up, we had to fight over the last piece! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States