Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Had 2 make this one twice! It's a hit & so so easy! Reminds me of pastel de tres leches but with coconut! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyj510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This cake is phenomenal. I made it for my mom's 70th birthday party, and I honestly couldn't believe how easy it was. I set aside about 7 hours to make 2 elaborate cakes, and started with this one. When I got into making it, I couldn't believe that it involved only a couple of simple steps-and half the time that I imagined! But this cake almost didn't happen: I was so excited when I first read the reviews and decided to use this recipe. It wasn't until making my shopping list, that I noticed that it was made from a box cake. I came very close to scrapping this recipe. I needed a made-from-scratch-show-stopper for this important occasion, one that presented as well as it tasted. It was the reviews that swayed me back to trying it...and boy am I glad I did. Coconut lovers adored it, mild coconut eaters asked for seconds, and everyone who took a bite raved about it. I agree that it has the consistency of a tres leches cake. I also agreee that it should be made a day in advance, so the glaze flavors have adequate time to be absorbed into the cake, and set. In my opinion, it is best served cold. I made the cake exactly as per the recipe, down the the coconut cream/evaporated milk combo. While the sweetness suited me just fine, someone with a lessor sweet tooth might want to use the coconut milk/evaporated milk combo that someone mentioned in their review earlier. However, like I said, too many people wanted the recipe for me to change one thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have made this a couple of times now, and getting ready to do so again for a baby shower... while it is on the sweet side, it is a delicious accompaniment to a tropical themed dinner, easter, or any occasion (ours is a monkey baby shower cake)... definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Not a big baker at all...but told my mom I would make her a coconut cake for her birthday...she LOVED it! Was gone in a couple of days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was wonderfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I made this and everyone loved it......they asked me for the recipe especially one person in our group who always has some complaint about food!! I used coconut milk because coconut cream had too many chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This cake was very rich. I wish I had read that others only used half the cream or omitted the sweetened condensed milk. If I make it again, I will do that. My cake ended up kind of soggy and way too sugar-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Am I the only one but this cake is not soft at all compared to a spongy cake I am used to. I don't know what went wrong but I followed every single step which is supposed to be easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline T
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Followed the recipe almost exactly...except i forgot to put the coconut extract in the batter. So, i just put it in the whipping cream instead. Not overwhelming. Definitely let the cream work it's way throughout the cake and let cool at room temperature before placing in the fridge overnight. Then, next day, place the whipping cream and decorate. I did toast the coconut flakes lightly. I find that it gives the cake some texture and a slight colour. People absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Very good. Would recommend leaving out the condensed milk. Cake was good to moist. Especially at bottom of pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States