Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Oh, wow, here I thought I had invented this recipe! :) I was trying to match a Tres Leches at a restaurant here in Houston and I got pretty close using basically this recipe. I use Betty Crocker Homestyle Frosting Mix instead of whipped cream. It's a marshmallow-ish frosting that's closer to what the restaurant uses. I add heavy cream to the coconut cream/sweetened condensed milk mixture and then I can call it Tres Leches. I've served it as straight Tres Leches for years, and just in the last few years I've started adding coconut. My friend from up north, who grew up with French instead of Spanish, insisted on pronouncing it "Tre-luscious" instead of "Tres Leches"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Engelking Hargraves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AfnanB
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This cake has become a weekly treat! Everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
loved it! amazing. by accident i messed up order. and added coconut cream before. didnt use sweetened condensed milk! turned out perfect with a little more cooking time and made coconut buttercream ciing which is preferable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mindy Coen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have never made a coconut cake before. Since my mother ask for a different kind of dessert for Christmas I came across this one .... OHHHH the reviews that I got. Everyone was impressed with the presentation and the texture and flavor was spot on. The only change I made was that I only used half the cream mixture on the cake. I let in sit in the fridge overnight. I used two round cake pans and frosted the whole cake then covered in mounds of coconut. I finished off the decorations with red cherries as holly berries and green sliced cherries as leaves ..... Not only was it beautiful it was simply divine. Thank you for a wonderful keeper of a recipe. This is going to be a tradition during the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Coen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
It was incredibly good. Not too sweet (1/2 can condensed sweetened milk and coconut milk)and with a great coconut taste, though I did add coconut extract to the whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I could not make these work as cup cakes, I worked my way around it & was able to make it semi-okay. Pouring the sweetened condensed milk & coconut mixture over the cupcakes is what made me unable to hand these out to people. I ended up peeling the wrapper off all of them out of the oven & poured the mixture over each cupcake, I will try making this as a cake if I like the cup cakes, they're chilling now & waiting for frosting. I used my favorite white cake recipe the "Simple White Cake" from this site & then just followed along from there. This recipe is great, just not a cupcake recipe. Ive been craving coconut flakes, so excited to try these tomarrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
It's true, this is a great recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and it looks and smells wonderful. I used the buttercream frosting recipe on the powdered sugar box and added a little coconut extract to it. It was fun assembling it and the shortcut using a box mix was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cyoung325
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Such a simple cake and it tastes so good! I ended up using coconut milk and the whole can of sweetened condensed milk and it was a little bit wetter than I would have liked. It ended up having a small amount of syrup left over which I worked into the whipped cream frosting. I decided to make 2 9-inch round cakes and put some of the frosting in between the two so I had to double the frosting ingredients and flaked coconut. I think it ended up looking quite pretty and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
very flavorful cake and easy too! Be careful not to poke holes all the way to the bottom of the pan or the liquid will sit in the bottom making it soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Anyone who knows me knows that I am a coconut addict! This cake is one of my most favorite recipes. I use Trader Joe's vanilla bean cake mix (tastes like home-made). I don't use the full can of condensed milk because I don't like things that sweet. I also add a little coconut extract to the milk mixture. I've also found that this cake tastes better and better each day it stays in the fridge. I like to make it one or two days in advance. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States