Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Perfect & amazing! I used the easy whipped cream recipe from this site (with the sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
One Fantastic Cake! I made this Superbowl Sunday along with a chocolate sheet cake which is also to die for! Everyone raved about the cake and it was gone before you know it. The frosting being whipped cream makes the cake so light and not too sweet. I'll make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is fantastic! Even family members that aren't fans of coconut love this cake. I made a round layer cake and used the handle of a small wooden spoon to make my holes, and didn't press all the way down to the bottom of the cake. I put my coconut mixture in a plastic container similar to to a ketsup squeeze bottle that I cut the top down to make a bigger opening. I used that to slowly fill the holes and it made it so much easier. There is a lot of the cream of coconut mixture but I used it all. It's ok if it doesn't all make it inside the holes and some of it sits on top of the cake. I left my cakes right in the pans after filling with the cream of coconut and after cooling, covered them with plastic wrap and put in the fridge. To be sure it sets up nice and firm you must chill it overnight. The next morning I made Cool-Whip Frosting from this site. Instead of vanilla pudding I used cheesecake pudding. The vanilla is sort of yellowish and the cheesecake pudding is whiter, so it made for a prettier cake. I also add a bit of coconut extract to the frosting. The frosting does hold up much better than plain cool-whip. You can then cover the top and sides with a little or a lot of coconut. The cake sat in the fridge for several more hours before serving. It was so beautiful and impressive looking and my company loved it. Because it is so rich I will save it for very special occasions. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This cake is amazing. Even non-coconut lovers will love this cake. I've taken it several different places and it's gobbled up at each one. I find that it's best served chilled - but room temperature is fine, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMorgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very good but just a little bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I seldom write reviews but this is the most delicious coconut cake I ever tasted. My family and friends couldn't stop complimenting on how moist and superb it is and the disappointed faces when there was no more remaining just led me to write this review. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This cake is excellent. I didn't use all of the mixture on the cake since I was nervous it would be soggy. It turned out just perfect. Really great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made this as a layer cake and can not do it again. Letting the cake set overnight in the fridge makes it unbelievably sticky to the bottom of the pan and impossible to transfer the cake to a serving platter to finish frosting/decorating. Plus, it was soggy on the bottom of the layers. I also took the suggestions of others and topped it with the Cool Whipped Frosting, which was honestly the best part of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PartyofFive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Definitely a winner--but I can't figure out how to infuse the coconut cream/milk mixture and then get the cake to hold together. Either it's too dry and looks great or is perfectly infused and then won't hold together. I would recommend using a 9x13 cake pan instead of two rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brown sugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Phenomenal cake! I took the leftovers to work and people honestly thought I was some kind of goddess of baking - little did they know this recipe was a literal piece of cake :) I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States