Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made this cake for my dad's birthday because my grandmother used to make coconut cakes every Christmas and I wanted to make something special that reminded him of her. Although I don't think this was like hers it was still really good. I made my cake from scratch since I prefer them over boxed mixes. I also reserved about a cup of the coconut cream mixture and added it to 1 cup of heavy cream and whipped it to make my frosting. I baked it in two 8" round pans and layered it. I poured the coconut cream over the layers and let them set overnight before assembling the cake the next day. The finished cake was not only beautiful but very moist and flavorful. Everyone loved it, even those who don't like coconut. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is an awesome little piece of heaven! I couldn't find cream of coconut where I live (didn't realize I should have gone to the liquor store first) so the only thing I changed was mixing in 1/2 can (14 oz.) of coconut milk in with the sweetened condensed milk and it turned out fantastic. I will be trying it with the c.o.c. when I find it, but for now, this recipe is a definite winner with the minor substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
excellent cake! i would rate as a 5 if i didn't make alterations. didn't use the sweetened condensed milk as cream of coconut is already plenty sweet enough. also didn't have any coconut extract but, of course, the cream of coconut had plenty of coconutty goodness. and lastly, the family loves toasted coconut, so we toasted a bit to go on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Although I substitued Cool Whip in place of the homemade whipping cream, this has been a huge hit with my family and friends. It has been requested at several gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sfirth
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
DELICIOUS! I only used half of the coconut cream/milk in the cake. I ended up having to trim off the edges because they were a bit soggy. After icing & spreading cocunut flakes I put the cake back in the fridge for 4-5 hours and it was a huge hit. Dinner Guests took it home with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This cake is super easy and super delicious. I used the back of a rubber spatula to punch very large holes in the cake. I added more coconut extract (1 tsp) and it tastes best served cold. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this cake for my mother who loves coconut cake. I have been trying many different recipes. My Mom LOVED this cake. She was going to take most of it to work because she didn't want to eat the whole thing, but after trying it she decided to keep it all to her self (well she shared three slices with friends). When I told her there was one more recipe I wanted to try, she said why bother? This was the best coconut cake she's ever had. I did make one adjustment...I only used about 3/4 - 1 cup of the coconut milk/condensed milk mixture. It would have been WAY too wet if I had added it all. The cake still turned out very moist and dense. I would like to try this as a layered cake next time, but not sure how that will work out because of adding the liquid to the layers might make it too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
absolutely wonderful, for a little extra kick I added a tiny drop of coconut extract to the icing. The icing was a bit bland the first time, but the second time I made the cake I put a little extra in the icing and it was wonderful. Keep it refridgerated for the the best results and to keep it from turing into soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
My fiancee, the coconut lover, gives this five stars. This turned out beautiful: incredibly moist with a lovely light coconut flavor, but not too sweet. It baked perfectly in the oven in 30 minutes. I also had the dillema of not being able to find coconut cream, so I mixed together half a can of the sweetened condensed milk and a full can of coconut milk for the cream, and I made sure I only poked holes halfway through the cake. It took me a long time to whip the cream to the right consistency, but the end result was worth it. Added a bit of coconut extract to it and only half the sugar. I made it on a Wednesday night and it sat in the refrigerator until Friday night when I made the frosting, so everyone is right about it being better eating it cold and after letting it sit for a day or two before eating. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
hands down, my favorite cake!! i make all the cakes for birthdays in our family, and 9/10 times this is requested. everyone loves it and cant get enough. i toast the coconut before sprinkling on top to add another depth of flavor and give a pretty color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States