Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
hands down, my favorite cake!! i make all the cakes for birthdays in our family, and 9/10 times this is requested. everyone loves it and cant get enough. i toast the coconut before sprinkling on top to add another depth of flavor and give a pretty color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
When I was making this cake, I had doubts throughout because, not only was it ugly before it was frosted (all the holes and liquid soaking in are not a very appetizing sight), but the color of the cake after it had soaked was almost questionable. However, the cake turned out to be quite a tasty surprise! I would suggest to others who make this recipe that they make the cake 2-4 days before it is eaten. The longer you allow it to sit, the better it tastes. I wasn't too crazy about it the first 2 days, but by the 4th day the cake was absolutely delicious. I frosted it with the cool whip frosting on this site as suggested by some other viewers and it was wonderful, though it did come off as slightly cheese flavored. Also, I toasted the coconut that I sprinkled over the frosting. One note, if you are using this frosting, I suggest you wait to frost the cake until the day it is going to be eaten or the night before because after it sits for awhile, it begins to taste slightly salty, which doesn't really complement the cake. Otherwise, this cake was delicious. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is an awesome coconut cake recipe - I've made it many, many times and have shared the recipe with several people as well. It's always a huge hit! I make it in a 9x13" oblong glass pan. I use a can of coconut milk (not the lowfat version) and the sweetened condensed milk. I let it rest overnight in a cool place. I frost it with a cream cheese frosting that has a carton of whipped topping folded in to it (1/4 stick of butter, 4 oz. cream cheese, half a box of powdered sugar, 1/2 teasp. vanilla and 1/4 teasp. coconut extract then fold in the whipped topping). I liberally sprinkle coconut on top - but I also toast some coconut to sprinkle on top as well. This is a great recipe - not too sweet and light and lovely coconut flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This Coconut Cream Cake was a Huge Success!! My Mother came to visit for Thanksgivng Last Year in 2009 and upon her Request she asked that i make her a Coconut cream Cake, well I had Never made one before after searching This Site i found what My Mother Calls (THE BEST CAKES SHES EVER EATEN) Thanks so much for this Recipe it was Awesome and i followed it to the (T) Totally Wonderful Expecially if you Love Coconut and We do!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tosha Stafford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
every time i make this cake, and that is pretty often, there is not a single drop left in the pan. i have taken it to work many times with rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Made this for my father-in-law's birthday and we all really enjoyed it. I made it as a two-layer cake with toasted coconut and it looked really pretty!! I'm giving it 4 stars because the coconut milk/condensed milk combo didn't absorb that well into the cake layers. Perhaps I should've used a wooden spoon handle rather than a bamboo skewer to make bigger holes. Also, where the mixture poured over the edge of the cake into the sides of the pan, the edges got too saturated and started to fall apart like a graham cracker that's been left soaking in milk for too long. Next time I may just use the coconut cream found in the alcoholic beverage section of the grocery store and omit the condensed milk (which seemed too thick to me to be absorbable) and see how that turns out. Per other's suggestions, I also used the Cool Whipped Frosting recipe and used cheesecake instant pudding instead of coconut (couldn't find coconut) and added coconut extract instead of vanilla and it was sooo tasty! Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
i just made it and it was so good it taste like heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I've been making this cake for years and built quite a legendary reputation with family and friends because of it. A couple of suggestions. Get the Super Moist whilte cake mix and use the egg-whites-only version on the box. When it's finished, simply spread an 8oz carton of Cool Whip on top and then spread TOASTED coconut all over it. You will LOVE the way the toasted, crispy coconut tastes on top of this rich cake. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great cake, will make again. Instead of the frosting listed, I used extra-creamy whipped topping and lots of sweetened flaked coconut on top. I also made the cake ahead, fridged it, and on the second day after baking, served it. The flavors had really sunk in and it was awesome. My husband, who loves coconut (and is picky about it) truly liked this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Delicious! Made it today for Mother's Day and she just can't get over it! I had a slight problem because nowhere in town carries coconut cream. Instead, I read some reviews and in place of coconut cream I used 7 oz of cream of coconut and 7 oz of coconut milk. I mixed this with the condensed milk and it turned out wonderfully! Not at all too sweet! I also toasted the coconut before putting it on, just as a personal preference! This was also my first time making whipped cream but I followed the directions as is and that turned out perfect as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States