Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I have made this cake about twenty times because everyone I know wants this specific cake for every occasion that comes up. Half of these occasions have been for teachers at my children's school. I always use Dunkin Hines Brand cake mix, Coco Lopez cream of coconut milk, Eagle Brand sweetened, condensed milk, Promised Land whipping cream and Angel Flake shredded coconut. I have tried cheaper versions of each of these items and am usually disappointed. I also substitute melted butter for the oil. Make sure after you have poured the milk mixture over the cake that you allow the cake to cool completely before you put it in the refrigerator otherwise the mixture will pool in the bottom of the pan instead of being absorbed by the cake. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING!! Let me just tell you, I am horrible at baking!, but I made this for my best friend's birthday and no could get enough of it. My brother said it was the best cake he ever had! Not to mention it was simple. This recipe is great for the baking-impaired, like myself, and everyone will think you're a cake genius! I brought a piece for all the girls in office and they all wanted the recipe. In conclusion: SOOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This cake is wonderful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
EVERYONE who tried this cake, loved this cake. It is going to be one of my favorites for sure. I might try a little less condensed milk (It was on the verge of too sweet). It was very moist, sweet and the whipped icing is a must with the cake itself being so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I didn't use all of the sauce as others recommended....probably 1/2 to 2/3 cup was left over and the cake was still moist and delicious. Since this was our Easter cake, I decorated the top with pastel colored Jordan almonds ...it was beautiful and a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I'm joining the chorus of oohs and aaahs for this cake! I'm normally a from-scratch baker, but this cake looks like you slaved away all day (and tastes way more delicious than a regular box cake). I made this as a layer cake, baked in foil pans with scalloped sides, and if you only frost between the layers and the top, the cream oozing out the sides looks absolutely beautiful. I made some substitutions to make it a bit healthier: used lite coconut milk for the coconut cream, and non-fat sweetened condensed milk (it's plenty sweet). I also used unsweetened coconut from the bins at my whole foods market, toasted, in between the layers as well as the top. I did use Cool Whip because I didn't have whipping cream, which isn't bad at all, but obviously real cream would make it even better. This is a perfect cake for a dinner party or shower, and I think berries and/or tropical fruit scattered on the cake plate would also cut the sweetness and make it even more elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this recipe for Easter and the family loved it. It is a keeper for sure... My family even took slices home with them..It was moist and wet and so delicious.. Melts in you mouth... I think its my favorite cake now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Many compliments on this cake :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Just to clear up the confusion on the coconut cream vs. cream of coconut- Coconut cream is NOT sweet, it is called COCONUT CREAM, NOT cream of coconut. This product mixed with sweetened condensed milk is perfect and not too thick OR too sweet. IF you bought cream of coconut instead and mixed it with sweetened condensed milk it would be very sweet and very thick and probably ruin this cake. Coco Lopez and the brands found in the mixed drink section are incorrect for this recipe. Most stores carry all 3 kinds of canned cocnut product; coconut cream, coconut milk, and cream of coconut. The coconut cream is usually located in the Thai/Asian food section with the coconut milk. I did not use quite all of my cream mixture but I used most of it. I also drained some of the excess from the bottom of the pan out before it soaked it all up. Other than this I think the recipe is perfect as is, as long as you know the difference between the coconut products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meldaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
The 2 stars is for the idea. I was so excited to try this cake but it was a HUGE letdown. I love coconut in almost anything so i thought this would be great. However it ended up tasting just like box cake mix (ew). The coconut flavor was totally lost. This tasted like a regular soggy box cake that was too sweet. If I ever try this again I will definitely make the cake from scratch and use less sugar in the batter and less condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States