Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This cake was amazing! I have used coconut milk and the consistency was thinner than when I used coconut cream. I found coconut cream at my local Trader Joe's and it is not sweet. I would recommend using coconut cream and less condensed milk as it can be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
This cake is soooo moist and yummy. I didn't have the coconut extract but it was still very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
IT IS BEST TO EAT AFTER AT LEAST TWO DAYS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This is an awesome recipe! And I have made it several times. Everyone loves it and so do I. I will be making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Wow, wow, wow!!! This is a keeper! I followed the recipe to the letter. Actually, not true. I added a teaspoon of coconut extract to the whipped cream. It was so good!!! The coconut cream I used was Goya and it worked well. At first, the cake was gooey and I was afraid it would be too moist. After it sat in the fridge all day (BEFORE frosting) it firmed up. I will make this again and again!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Dominick
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this cake for Easter Sunday and it was true perfection... All of my family and guest absolutely loved it... They all are true coconut lovers... I didn't need all of the sauce and I also made a double layer instead of the 13x9 pan. Was not too sweet or not sweet enough... Oh btw I did add a lil coconut extract to the frosting and one more tidbit... ADD 1 1/2 TABLESPOONS OF COFFEE CREAMER... IT KEEPS THE CREAMER FROM SEPERATING... but definitely try this recipe... Everyone will enjoy it and will be so pleased that you took the time to make it! . I submit a picture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Oh. My. God. This is the best cake I've EVER made. Ever. It's THAT good. I didn't have a cake mix, so I just added the vanilla and dry ingredients from my favorite (Betty Crocker) yellow cake recipe, and it worked beautifully. This is going to be my standby cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Hamlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darin Eskridge
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
After reading many of the reviews, I made this cake and many of the tips were very helpful. I've never really cooked with coconut cream or milk before, so making sense out of all the different coconut comments was a little daunting. My store only sells the sweetened coconut cream for drinks and canned coconut milk. I felt that the recipe called for the unsweetened milk and opted to stay with the recipe. My store sold no unsweetened coconut cream product though, so that must just be a problem with my store. On my first attempt, I used the entire can of coconut milk and the sweetened condensed milk. I used the entire mixture and ruined my cake with too much moisture. It was really just a sticky mess. When you open a can of coconut milk, the top half is just a heavy cream, and the bottom is the liquid milk. On the second attempt I just used the cream out of the coconut milk can and the sweetened condensed milk. The cake came out perfect. The top was still a little stick of course, but once iced you cannot tell. The inside was perfectly moist. I hope this helps someone from making the same novice mistake I did. Good luck, this cake really is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
One of my favorite cakes ever! I've made it a couple of times with just 2 minor changes. I substitute the vegetable oil for coconut oil and omit the coconut extract. It is absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I have to give this 5 stars. I made it last year for my husband's birthday with the help of my toddler. I had a three year old measuring, mixing, poking holes, and spooning goop and still ended up with a cake that was raved about on taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States