Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Back in April I made this for Easter. I wanted to see if it freezes well and I must say it tasted like the first day I made it. Surprisely, I did not think whipped cream would freeze well, but it did. The the moist and the whipped cream was yummy. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was nervous to make a new cake for the holiday weekend; but this cake looked awesome. This decision was great decision...this cake was a sensational hit with EVERYONE! Thanks allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written with only one change, I toasted the coconut that I sprinkled over it. I read a lot of reviews about the cake being overly sweet, but my family and I didn't think it was at all. This is definitely a keeper I will make for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Odde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have made this recipe for 5 consecutive Easter Sunday's! I do tweek it each time to my own liking when it comes to the amount of cream. COCONUT CREAM is the only thing that works in my opinion for this recipe, I do play around with the sweetness myself. I add vanilla extract and lime zest to the heavy cream. Line the cake with lime slices, I've even shaved some chocolate to sprinkle on top. To me this cake is an overnight serve, I always cream the cake ahead, refridgerate over night and frost just before dinner. It never fails to be the talk of Easter. The cake is amazing as a layered cake, DO NOT POKE HOLES ALL THE WAY! I use a kebab stick and run it half way through each cake. Then, just add some coconut and topping in the middle. Viola! hands down the best coconut cream cake recipe EVER! When you have 20 to 30 school moms begging for this you realize what a gem you have in a recipe. Clip, Print or save it to your phone. YOU WONT BE SORRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Fabulously coconutty, light and fluffy,....a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This cake is AMAZING! I made the cake exactly the way the recipe specified except for one thing. I did not pour all of the sauce over the cake. The sauce is delicious, but it's very sweet, and there is a lot of sauce. I didn't want the cake to be too sweet or mushy so I stopped pouring after I had poured about 2/3 of the sauce. I'm still giving this recipe 5 stars though because the recipe did state at the top that you didn't have to use all the sauce. Overall this cake is really good! My family loved it, and half of them don't even like coconut lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Wow! This came out amazing. I used Duncan Hines white cake mix and I could only find coconut cream powder at the store but it worked out fine. I made the whipped topping but also had a can of reddi whip and i actually prefer it with this cake since it's not as sweet as the topping from this recipe. Definitely a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake is AWESOME!! I made it for Easter and every one just LOVED it. I did have a problem with the milk mixture running under the cake but it was still good; next time I will poke larger holes so it can absorb into the cake instead of running under. I decorated it with green dyed coconut and scattered jelly bean "eggs" over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for Easter and it was a HIT! Everyone loved it! So moist, not cloyingly sweet, and just delicious. Easy to make too! Doesn't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was amazing! It turned out to be a homerun with the family too. I'm not much of a baker but this sure was easy enough to pull off =) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubbasmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States