Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was amazing! It turned out to be a homerun with the family too. I'm not much of a baker but this sure was easy enough to pull off =) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubbasmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. I bought the ingredients, and while I found coconut MILK at 3 different stores, I proceeded to hunt down coconut CREAM at a 4th store, Whole Foods. I did not read the reviews here first, as the instructions were simple and I knew that everyone in my family likes coconut. Hence, I've finished the cake this morning with the whipped cream, and proceeded to have a piece of cake, my "reward". I felt like I was going to pass out from the extreme amount of sugar in this. I am so disappointed, after having now spent nearly $15 in ingredients, that no one will be able to finish one piece of this 13 x 9 cake. No one. It is so sickeningly sweet, a total waste of time. I love the flavor, but entirely tooooo sweet. I came back here to review and read the presently rated Most Helpful review, regarding someone using coconut milk and cream interchangably. This recipe needs to be rewritten, if that is the case Coconut CREAM and the sweetened condensed milk will give you a horribly sweet cake that not the heartiest of sweet tooths could consume. Good luck. And please, edit the recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have just made the cake portion and am wondering if I use sweetened or plain coconut? If someone could let me know, I'd appreciate it. Thanks you (and fingers crossed)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this for school yesterday, for a faculty breakfast. Everyone enjoyed it and asked for the recipe. There is none left! I wish I had taken a picture-will do that next time I make it. It makes a "picture-prefect" cake and was superb! I may cut the condensed milk in half next time, as it is a really sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
OK, I need to stop eating this cake! I made it almost exactly like the original instructions except for three things: I used coconut milk instead of cream; I used egg whites instead of whole eggs; and, I baked in two 8" pans instead of a 9 X 13". The only drawback that I did not account for was the cream mixture made the cakes difficult to remove from their pans after the chilling period. So, it got a little sloppy there -- but frosting covers many cake sins! Especially this lovely, light whipped cream frosting covered with coconut flakes. And I have to stop eating this cake! Thanks to GPAIN for the recipe and to Allrecipes for highlighting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebugsmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I added lime juice into the whip cream as well as coconut extract it tasted amazing and gave it that extra lil flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My family loves this cake. It reminds us a little of my grandmother's coconut layer cake AND our favorite Mexican Food Restaurant's Tres Leches Cake rolled into one. Definitely 5-star worthy. Some of you had a hard time understanding why the recipe calls for a 9 x 13 when the picture is of a layer cake. Please check out the photos. Just click on the number of photos and you can flip through them and even match up photos with reviewers by their screen names. To those who rated low only to slam the use of a mix or gripe about the fat content, please consider finding a recipe site that fits your stringent criteria...I do not presume to speak for anyone else but I love shortcuts and know how to limit my fat intake by exercising portion control or the ability to politely refuse a high calorie dish yet give my family the treats they love. I would rather not have to wade through your misplaced, negative and insulting postings. Honestly, if you want to rate a recipe, follow it the first time, give your honest opinion, tweak it the second time if you like, and update with your tweaks so that your posts truly are helpful, not hurtful. Seriously, didn't you learn in Kindergarten to treat others the way you want to be treated? If you cannot respect our differences, go find a new site or better yet, write your own blog.....then it can be all about you and your recipes and likes and dislikes Getting off of soap box now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Brought it for a coworkers birthday, everyone kept asking if it was ok to have a 2nd piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I was introduced to this recipe years ago..if you don't tell , unlike me, folks will think you spent hours on preparing this cake...it is beyond belief...it makes you want to just bury your face in it......it's even better a day or two later..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Enterprise, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My family insists I bring this cake to any gathering, especially Christmas. I sometimes feel if I didn't, they would ask me to leave ;-) That is how much they love this cake. It tends to be a hit anywhere and super simple. If you like coconut, you can not go wrong! If you're in a hurry, Coolwhip makes great frosting. I have also colored the coconut for different holidays. (red and green for Christmas; green and pink for Easter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States