Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I used coconut milk and half a can of sweetened condensed milk (didn't have coconut cream) and it was nicely sweet. It really does need to sit in the pan for a couple of days though to really allow the cake to soak up all the liquid. I made it for my husbands birthday, everyone loved it and even ate the piece that fell on the floor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
SOOO delicious. everyone loved it! I didn't use the whipped frosting though. I made a butter cream frosting because I was decorating. :) it's so moist and delicious! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is the best recipe I have ever used for any cake! My friends didn't waste time finishing it up, we had to fight over the last piece! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I used the Coco Real cream of coconut from the alcohol mixer section of the grocery store and mixed that with the sweetened condensed milk. The mix was sooo much and so sweet was nervous to add all of it and I'm glad I did. I used the handle end of a wooden spoon to poke (I made a 3 layer round) and it turned out perfect. Very moist, but not wet whatsoever. I made this for my mom's birthday and she loved it. I added a little more sugar to the whipped cream and also added coconut extract to that as well. Best coconut cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very easy and good. I did a butter cream frosting and it came out good. Although might have been a little too sweet. but I was worried about the whipping cream melting during the course of our BBQ. My other complaint is the picture shows a double layered cake and with soaking the cake in the coconut cream and condensed milk... I did do two nine inch rounds I only soaked for a couple of hours then removed them and placed them in the fridge over night. They didn't get too soggy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raechel Valerius
Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Really good cake the first day, really great cake the second day! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
best coconut cake ever!!!!! everyone who trys it wants the recipe..thank you "gpain"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great Recipe very delicious, wouldn't pour the whole recipe of cream on cake...I'll use 1/2 next time, cream makes it too wet...Also make sure you take cake out of pan before pouring cream.if you don't will have problem with cake sticking to the pan..if you are making cake and it will be outside in a warm climent it's best to add a packet of gelatin to your cool whip frosting makes it thicker and won't melt as fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hoskey

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I used the coconut cream that is sweet so I did not use the sweetened condensed milk. The cake was perfect! Made the cool whip with pudding to frost it. My family likes the coconut taste but not the shredded coconut so I just added a little more coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I've made this recipe for nearly 30 yrs. My mother-in-law gave it to me shortly after I was married, and the first time I tasted it I was in love! I have changed the way I make it now though. While I used to pour the entire liquid mixture of sweetened condensed milk and cream of coconut over the cake, now I only use HALF of this mixture, and I freeze the other half for the next cake. It freezes VERY well! I've found the cake is a little lighter this way, and just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States