Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Good cake for coconut lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was a huge hit for my mom's birthday party! I topped with toasted, sweetened coconut flakes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I've made this several times and everyone loves it! Coconut milk works great for this recipe as well if you can't get the coconut cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Had 2 make this one twice! It's a hit & so so easy! Reminds me of pastel de tres leches but with coconut! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyj510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This cake is phenomenal. I made it for my mom's 70th birthday party, and I honestly couldn't believe how easy it was. I set aside about 7 hours to make 2 elaborate cakes, and started with this one. When I got into making it, I couldn't believe that it involved only a couple of simple steps-and half the time that I imagined! But this cake almost didn't happen: I was so excited when I first read the reviews and decided to use this recipe. It wasn't until making my shopping list, that I noticed that it was made from a box cake. I came very close to scrapping this recipe. I needed a made-from-scratch-show-stopper for this important occasion, one that presented as well as it tasted. It was the reviews that swayed me back to trying it...and boy am I glad I did. Coconut lovers adored it, mild coconut eaters asked for seconds, and everyone who took a bite raved about it. I agree that it has the consistency of a tres leches cake. I also agreee that it should be made a day in advance, so the glaze flavors have adequate time to be absorbed into the cake, and set. In my opinion, it is best served cold. I made the cake exactly as per the recipe, down the the coconut cream/evaporated milk combo. While the sweetness suited me just fine, someone with a lessor sweet tooth might want to use the coconut milk/evaporated milk combo that someone mentioned in their review earlier. However, like I said, too many people wanted the recipe for me to change one thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have made this a couple of times now, and getting ready to do so again for a baby shower... while it is on the sweet side, it is a delicious accompaniment to a tropical themed dinner, easter, or any occasion (ours is a monkey baby shower cake)... definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Not a big baker at all...but told my mom I would make her a coconut cake for her birthday...she LOVED it! Was gone in a couple of days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was wonderfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I made this and everyone loved it......they asked me for the recipe especially one person in our group who always has some complaint about food!! I used coconut milk because coconut cream had too many chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This cake was very rich. I wish I had read that others only used half the cream or omitted the sweetened condensed milk. If I make it again, I will do that. My cake ended up kind of soggy and way too sugar-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States