Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This cake is AWESOME!!! It tastes just like a Pepperidge Farm Coconut Cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beagle5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this on Easter and it was wonderful. The reviewer that gave the tip to eliminate the sweetend condensed milk if the coconut cream had sugar in the mix was spot on. If you like coconut, this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this for Easter and it was a huge hit. I did toast the coconut before putting on top of the cake, which added a deep nutty flavor. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidsmom
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
So good, so easy. I didn't use all of the milk blend that went on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Good cake for coconut lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was a huge hit for my mom's birthday party! I topped with toasted, sweetened coconut flakes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I've made this several times and everyone loves it! Coconut milk works great for this recipe as well if you can't get the coconut cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Had 2 make this one twice! It's a hit & so so easy! Reminds me of pastel de tres leches but with coconut! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyj510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This cake is phenomenal. I made it for my mom's 70th birthday party, and I honestly couldn't believe how easy it was. I set aside about 7 hours to make 2 elaborate cakes, and started with this one. When I got into making it, I couldn't believe that it involved only a couple of simple steps-and half the time that I imagined! But this cake almost didn't happen: I was so excited when I first read the reviews and decided to use this recipe. It wasn't until making my shopping list, that I noticed that it was made from a box cake. I came very close to scrapping this recipe. I needed a made-from-scratch-show-stopper for this important occasion, one that presented as well as it tasted. It was the reviews that swayed me back to trying it...and boy am I glad I did. Coconut lovers adored it, mild coconut eaters asked for seconds, and everyone who took a bite raved about it. I agree that it has the consistency of a tres leches cake. I also agreee that it should be made a day in advance, so the glaze flavors have adequate time to be absorbed into the cake, and set. In my opinion, it is best served cold. I made the cake exactly as per the recipe, down the the coconut cream/evaporated milk combo. While the sweetness suited me just fine, someone with a lessor sweet tooth might want to use the coconut milk/evaporated milk combo that someone mentioned in their review earlier. However, like I said, too many people wanted the recipe for me to change one thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have made this a couple of times now, and getting ready to do so again for a baby shower... while it is on the sweet side, it is a delicious accompaniment to a tropical themed dinner, easter, or any occasion (ours is a monkey baby shower cake)... definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States