Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I never make a cake with a cake mix but this sounded really good so I tried it. I have only given this cake three stars because it is made with a box cake. This cake was okay but I think using a white or coconut cake recipe from scratch would make it a 5+ star cake. I will try it and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is my go-to coconut cream cake, and it always gets a lot of compliments. I make it as stated, but instead of this frosting I make a fluffy cream cheese frosting (1 block of soft cream cheese, 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tub of cool whip). I also leave off the coconut flakes, just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy1457

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Way better than expected, everyone loved it and adding the coconut extract to the cream was perfect. I could only find cream of coconut (instead of coconut cream) but just adjusted the amount of condensed milk to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Tried this coconut cake and it was delicious! I only looked at the first two reviews and they were very helpful. What I had to work around initially was the photo showed a layer cake and the recipe is for a 9x13. Would like to know other opinions on which works better. For Easter, I was preferring the layer look. Much more elegant! I used the coconut milk (unsweetened) and with almost the entire can of sweetened condensed milk. The mixture was more runny than I expected. Because I made the cake in two layers, I put the mixture in a measuring cup and drizzled over the layers, which I placed on a cutting board, side by side. I was careful to not poke all the way through the layers, and any sauce that ended up on the board was due to it running down the layer and off. I did not use it all, in total it made a little more than 2 cups and I think about 1/2 cup was leftover. I did cool it before putting it in the fridge, like was suggested in the second review. I recommend whipping up the frosting just before you serve it or that morning. I did not have the time to do that so I had to frost the night before, the cake subsequently ran. After a little patching the next day it was fine and was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delish!! So good and not to sweet! Like others said, if you can't find Coconut cream, you can get cream of coconut in the liquor section just remember to leave out the sweetened condensed milk. I used a little evaporated milk to thin out the cream of coconut, and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This really is the best cake. I make it every Easter. I dye the coconut green to look like grass and add jelly eggs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I love it, I had to make some changes based upon what I had available. I used coconut milk as recommended from another review. I did use the whole thing of sweetened condensed milk and with these two there was too much sauce. I split the recipe into cupcakes and a small cake for two different events and I feel like I wasted the goodness of the mixture. Also, I did not have coconut extract so I used vanilla. This really helped make the coconut taste more subtle and not overwhelming like others complained about. I added more sugar to the whipping cream because I thought it was bland and it turned out great, not too sweet and not underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Good cake, but little coconut flavor. Tasted like boxed white cake covered in shredded coconut. Nice and moist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
***** I've made this cake many times, using only half of the cream of coconut, and the condensed milk. I decided to make this recipe for the icing. This was my first time using heavy whipping cream. I searched for tips to stabilize it. I added 1 tsp of powered milk and 1 tsp of corn syrup before beating the cream. I then beat on medium until it had thickened and you could see the beater tracks in it. Then I added the sugar, and flavoring and I used confectioners sugar and increased it to 6 Tab. Then I turned my mixer up higher and beat, until it could stand in peaks. Very good. I was hoping by using the stabilizers this would not 'weep' or disappear on my cake. So far, so good. Will see how it does after sitting overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Perfect as long as you half the amount of sweetened condensed milk like others suggested. I didn't have coconut cream so I used equal amount of coconut milk which also helped keep the over-sweet taste down. I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jr911

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States