Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My family loves this cake. It reminds us a little of my grandmother's coconut layer cake AND our favorite Mexican Food Restaurant's Tres Leches Cake rolled into one. Definitely 5-star worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Brought it for a coworkers birthday, everyone kept asking if it was ok to have a 2nd piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I was introduced to this recipe years ago..if you don't tell , unlike me, folks will think you spent hours on preparing this cake...it is beyond belief...it makes you want to just bury your face in it......it's even better a day or two later..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Enterprise, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My family insists I bring this cake to any gathering, especially Christmas. I sometimes feel if I didn't, they would ask me to leave ;-) That is how much they love this cake. It tends to be a hit anywhere and super simple. If you like coconut, you can not go wrong! If you're in a hurry, Coolwhip makes great frosting. I have also colored the coconut for different holidays. (red and green for Christmas; green and pink for Easter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Oh, wow, here I thought I had invented this recipe! :) I was trying to match a Tres Leches at a restaurant here in Houston and I got pretty close using basically this recipe. I use Betty Crocker Homestyle Frosting Mix instead of whipped cream. It's a marshmallow-ish frosting that's closer to what the restaurant uses. I add heavy cream to the coconut cream/sweetened condensed milk mixture and then I can call it Tres Leches. I've served it as straight Tres Leches for years, and just in the last few years I've started adding coconut. My friend from up north, who grew up with French instead of Spanish, insisted on pronouncing it "Tre-luscious" instead of "Tres Leches"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Hargraves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AfnanB
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This cake has become a weekly treat! Everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
loved it! amazing. by accident i messed up order. and added coconut cream before. didnt use sweetened condensed milk! turned out perfect with a little more cooking time and made coconut buttercream ciing which is preferable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mindy Coen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have never made a coconut cake before. Since my mother ask for a different kind of dessert for Christmas I came across this one .... OHHHH the reviews that I got. Everyone was impressed with the presentation and the texture and flavor was spot on. The only change I made was that I only used half the cream mixture on the cake. I let in sit in the fridge overnight. I used two round cake pans and frosted the whole cake then covered in mounds of coconut. I finished off the decorations with red cherries as holly berries and green sliced cherries as leaves ..... Not only was it beautiful it was simply divine. Thank you for a wonderful keeper of a recipe. This is going to be a tradition during the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Coen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
It was incredibly good. Not too sweet (1/2 can condensed sweetened milk and coconut milk)and with a great coconut taste, though I did add coconut extract to the whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I could not make these work as cup cakes, I worked my way around it & was able to make it semi-okay. Pouring the sweetened condensed milk & coconut mixture over the cupcakes is what made me unable to hand these out to people. I ended up peeling the wrapper off all of them out of the oven & poured the mixture over each cupcake, I will try making this as a cake if I like the cup cakes, they're chilling now & waiting for frosting. I used my favorite white cake recipe the "Simple White Cake" from this site & then just followed along from there. This recipe is great, just not a cupcake recipe. Ive been craving coconut flakes, so excited to try these tomarrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States