Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have just made the cake portion and am wondering if I use sweetened or plain coconut? If someone could let me know, I'd appreciate it. Thanks you (and fingers crossed)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this for school yesterday, for a faculty breakfast. Everyone enjoyed it and asked for the recipe. There is none left! I wish I had taken a picture-will do that next time I make it. It makes a "picture-prefect" cake and was superb! I may cut the condensed milk in half next time, as it is a really sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
OK, I need to stop eating this cake! I made it almost exactly like the original instructions except for three things: I used coconut milk instead of cream; I used egg whites instead of whole eggs; and, I baked in two 8" pans instead of a 9 X 13". The only drawback that I did not account for was the cream mixture made the cakes difficult to remove from their pans after the chilling period. So, it got a little sloppy there -- but frosting covers many cake sins! Especially this lovely, light whipped cream frosting covered with coconut flakes. And I have to stop eating this cake! Thanks to GPAIN for the recipe and to Allrecipes for highlighting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebugsmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I added lime juice into the whip cream as well as coconut extract it tasted amazing and gave it that extra lil flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My family loves this cake. It reminds us a little of my grandmother's coconut layer cake AND our favorite Mexican Food Restaurant's Tres Leches Cake rolled into one. Definitely 5-star worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Brought it for a coworkers birthday, everyone kept asking if it was ok to have a 2nd piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I was introduced to this recipe years ago..if you don't tell , unlike me, folks will think you spent hours on preparing this cake...it is beyond belief...it makes you want to just bury your face in it......it's even better a day or two later..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Enterprise, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My family insists I bring this cake to any gathering, especially Christmas. I sometimes feel if I didn't, they would ask me to leave ;-) That is how much they love this cake. It tends to be a hit anywhere and super simple. If you like coconut, you can not go wrong! If you're in a hurry, Coolwhip makes great frosting. I have also colored the coconut for different holidays. (red and green for Christmas; green and pink for Easter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Oh, wow, here I thought I had invented this recipe! :) I was trying to match a Tres Leches at a restaurant here in Houston and I got pretty close using basically this recipe. I use Betty Crocker Homestyle Frosting Mix instead of whipped cream. It's a marshmallow-ish frosting that's closer to what the restaurant uses. I add heavy cream to the coconut cream/sweetened condensed milk mixture and then I can call it Tres Leches. I've served it as straight Tres Leches for years, and just in the last few years I've started adding coconut. My friend from up north, who grew up with French instead of Spanish, insisted on pronouncing it "Tre-luscious" instead of "Tres Leches"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Hargraves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AfnanB
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This cake has become a weekly treat! Everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States