Coconut Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was fantastic! I made cupcakes instead of a cake. I also used the cram of coconut not coconut milk. Combined with the condensed milk it made a very thick syrup and was a little difficult to pour over the cupcakes. I'm sure it would be easier and less messy if I'd make a cake instead. The only change I made was to add about a teaspoon of coconut extract to the whipped cream icing. I also used a combination of toasted and untoasted coconut for the topping. They are wonderfully light and refreshing. This is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
INCREDIBLY MOIST! Delicious - I had no coconut extract so I left that out. Still fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is my go to cake from now on...It was simply delicious.....If I can give more stars I will
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I make this cake all the time with everybody asking for the recipe. I follow the cake mix instructions and I don't use the sweetened condensed milk. I only use the cream of cocconut and never have too much for a 9x13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winn, Maine, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Delicious!!! I was very skeptical, but other reviewers were right, by day 3, this cake was unbelievable!!!! Still good on day one. Next time I will up the coconut extract to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
So good! Highly recommend this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengirl90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is so good and so moist. It tastes light and is one of those cakes that I can't stop eating until it's gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Awesome! Made this for Easter. Gone instantly! Although one thing was not clear-could not find coconut cream so I got coconut milk instead (the kind you use for Thai food) and it worked just as well and just as creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovefullofpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I have made this cake about twenty times because everyone I know wants this specific cake for every occasion that comes up. Half of these occasions have been for teachers at my children's school. I always use Dunkin Hines Brand cake mix, Coco Lopez cream of coconut milk, Eagle Brand sweetened, condensed milk, Promised Land whipping cream and Angel Flake shredded coconut. I have tried cheaper versions of each of these items and am usually disappointed. I also substitute melted butter for the oil. Make sure after you have poured the milk mixture over the cake that you allow the cake to cool completely before you put it in the refrigerator otherwise the mixture will pool in the bottom of the pan instead of being absorbed by the cake. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING!! Let me just tell you, I am horrible at baking!, but I made this for my best friend's birthday and no could get enough of it. My brother said it was the best cake he ever had! Not to mention it was simple. This recipe is great for the baking-impaired, like myself, and everyone will think you're a cake genius! I brought a piece for all the girls in office and they all wanted the recipe. In conclusion: SOOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States