Coconut Conch Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I loved it and played with the ingredients a lot,used different fish's and Almond milk. Always turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carlyn
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This soup was absolutely AMAZING. I know I made some pretty large changes but I would like to add them here for anyone interested in lightening this up. I used fat free half and half and lite coconut milk and it turned out perfectly thick/creamy. Also tripled/quadrupled the amount of the veggies and added a few cloves of garlic and used sriracha as my hot sauce. Used shrimp and tilapia instead of conch and just added them raw in at the end and let it simmer for 15 minutes instead of the beginning step. The way I made it is very filling and colorful! I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
So good. Made a couple of changes just because of what I did or didn't have on hand. Used shrimp in place of the conch. Didn't have fish stock on hand because of this, so used two containers (11 oz) of coconut water. These also replaced the coconut milk. Then added water with some bouillion to make up the difference. The soup was waterier than I thought it would be, but I'm pretty sure it was because I didn't add the coconut milk. But I also think if you want it thicker you should cook the flour, butter and half&half to more of a thickness before adding the other ingredients. With that being said, even with it being waterier it was still, oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've been a member of All Recipes for seven-ish years and rarely rate recipes, although I've tried probably close to 100 from this site. This chowder is divine. Changes: tripled the veggies, cooked for about 45 mins because I like a real soft vegetable consistency, used tilapia instead of conch. This is a very special chowder and will truly wow any self respecting lover of delicious food. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Amazing chowder! I made a few changes as I could not find conch at the time. I subbed a bag of shrimp and a bag of scallops. I doubled the amount of veggies in the soup and still found that I could have added more (I really love a hearty chowder) I omitted the bell pepper due to dietary restrictions and added mushrooms, garlic and red onion. After getting the soup to a boil, I reduced the heat to low for an hour and a half, adding only half the cilantro and a little extra hot sauce after 15 minutes. Once I was almost ready to serve I got the soup back up to a boil, that is when I added the raw shrimp and scallops and then turned the element off and allowed the seafood to cook in the already hot soup. This way I was able to get all the flavors from the wonderful veggies, ginger, fish stock ect and NOT overcook the seafood. This is a new favorite in my house! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I served this to my guests at a dinner party last night and everyone, I'm not exagerating, everyone said it was the best chowder they ever had. I was of the same opinion. You wouldn't think that coconut and ginger would go so well together, but it was crazy good. You gotta try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I live in the Bahamas and conch chowder is a mainstay here. The recipe nails it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I'm always looking for new seafood dishes and this was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grenada7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
very good I made a few changes to the recipe I used 3 small golden yukon potates, no coconut milk veggie broth instead of fish and used more since I did not use the coconut milk. I used two stalks of celery and more conch. I recommend using fresh corn it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
We had this at our Gourmet Dinner Club on Saturday. She switched shrimp & talapia for the seafood. It was FABULOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States