Coconut Conch Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
So good. Made a couple of changes just because of what I did or didn't have on hand. Used shrimp in place of the conch. Didn't have fish stock on hand because of this, so used two containers (11 oz) of coconut water. These also replaced the coconut milk. Then added water with some bouillion to make up the difference. The soup was waterier than I thought it would be, but I'm pretty sure it was because I didn't add the coconut milk. But I also think if you want it thicker you should cook the flour, butter and half&half to more of a thickness before adding the other ingredients. With that being said, even with it being waterier it was still, oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've been a member of All Recipes for seven-ish years and rarely rate recipes, although I've tried probably close to 100 from this site. This chowder is divine. Changes: tripled the veggies, cooked for about 45 mins because I like a real soft vegetable consistency, used tilapia instead of conch. This is a very special chowder and will truly wow any self respecting lover of delicious food. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Amazing chowder! I made a few changes as I could not find conch at the time. I subbed a bag of shrimp and a bag of scallops. I doubled the amount of veggies in the soup and still found that I could have added more (I really love a hearty chowder) I omitted the bell pepper due to dietary restrictions and added mushrooms, garlic and red onion. After getting the soup to a boil, I reduced the heat to low for an hour and a half, adding only half the cilantro and a little extra hot sauce after 15 minutes. Once I was almost ready to serve I got the soup back up to a boil, that is when I added the raw shrimp and scallops and then turned the element off and allowed the seafood to cook in the already hot soup. This way I was able to get all the flavors from the wonderful veggies, ginger, fish stock ect and NOT overcook the seafood. This is a new favorite in my house! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I served this to my guests at a dinner party last night and everyone, I'm not exagerating, everyone said it was the best chowder they ever had. I was of the same opinion. You wouldn't think that coconut and ginger would go so well together, but it was crazy good. You gotta try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I live in the Bahamas and conch chowder is a mainstay here. The recipe nails it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I'm always looking for new seafood dishes and this was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grenada7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
very good I made a few changes to the recipe I used 3 small golden yukon potates, no coconut milk veggie broth instead of fish and used more since I did not use the coconut milk. I used two stalks of celery and more conch. I recommend using fresh corn it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
We had this at our Gourmet Dinner Club on Saturday. She switched shrimp & talapia for the seafood. It was FABULOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Yum!!! Next time I am trying it with shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States