Coconut Coffee Liqueur Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
I made this cake for a Christmas party and it was a huge hit! Many people asked for the recipe. I baked mine in a culinge pan, which when cake is baked, the middle is hollow for a filling. I placed the pudding filling in the middle of the top and bottom layer, instead of slicing each layer in half. I wanted to use my new pan, and it worked very well. Once the cake was sliced, you could see the pudding filling in the middle, and cake all the way around. The fresh whipped cream and colored sprinkles made a beautiful presentation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
If I could give this recipe a MILLION, KAH-JILLION STARS, I would. Such a HIT. And I'm not the hugest Kahlúa fan in the world... but man, I tellya, this cake was DE-LI-CIOUS. Moist, light, sweet (but not too sweet!), decadent and best of all ~ ~ ~ the finished cake is so easy to put together, yet it LOOKS like you spent SO MUCH MORE time on it... Simple ingredients, fantastic looking cake. You CANNOT mess this one up, folks. I was blown away. Here are my MINOR side-notes: • I used round cake pans, flattening the round top off - splitting each finished cake into four "slices". Made for an impressive, tall cake. • Reduced the amount of water by about a tablespoon where I could to boost the Kahlúa by an equal amount, for a bit more kick. • I prefer toasted coconut to plain, added nice depth to the visual... just be careful not to char. I also garnished cake with chocolate-covered espresso beans. Yummy!! You can't go wrong with this recipe. It is FANNNN-TASTIC. Went over brilliantly at a party over Christmas and it's going to make a work party (Mexican-food themed) that much more fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
A great recipe that is very easy to make. The cake ends up being just sweet enough abd sweetness can be adjusted by adding sugar to cream for frosting. The Kahlua and coconut complement the whipped cream well. A good recipe for potlucks and small parties. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This cake turned out great and my hubby loved it. I wouldn't make it with all the layers the next time, I would just do the two layers so that it wasn't so fussy to make. I added a stabilizer to the whipped cream so it stayed firm longer and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapinitblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was fantastic. I added a little extra kahlua with the water to the cake. I will try next time with Bailey's Irish Cream instead of kahlua and toast the cocunut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I made one for a friend and was asked to make another for another party the following week. I sprinkled a little more coffee liqueur on each sponge layer as I was assembling the cake and also added a tiny amount of coffee liqueur to the cream before beating. The only problem I had was getting the coconut to stick to the sides of the frosted cake. Other wise it was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
WOW to die for. Made it two layers and it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Easy to make. Let it soak for a couple of days before serving and it tastes just like Tiramisu without the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Great cake! I only did a two layer. I think next time I will use more coffee liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seelymo
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was delicious! I made the yellow cake from scratch using a recipe from this site. I also did not use an entire 3 cups of coconut to top, it was more like 1 cup sprinkled all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States