Coconut Chocolate Dream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was incredible! Only changes I made were I omitted the OJ since I had none. Used almond milk instead of rice milk. Used 3/4 tsp vanilla and omitted the almond extract. I used the Graham Cracker Crust #2 on this site. My husband even liked it and he hates tofu. A light, delicious dessert! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sls1956

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Excellent with whip cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
WOW! This was the definite show stealer of my dinner. I baked the coconut at 350* for about 15 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes. Used 1/4 cup chocolate soy milk, 1/4 cup chocolate liqueur and 1 tablespoon orange juice. Skipped the almond extract (didn't have). 10 oz of chocolate chips and a 14 oz package silken tofu made a FULL 8" pie. It's like a chocolate mousse pie that absolutely melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made a variation of this pie and I cannot stop eating it!! I have ulcerative colitis, and have been trying to cut out refined sugars and a few other things from my diet, but I have a massive sweet tooth and HAVE to have something for dessert each night. I didn't use coconut because I have high cholesterol, and I used Silk chocolate soymilk and actually firm tofu instead of silken. I also don't have any almond extract, so I didn't use that either. I bought an organic, sugarless graham cracker crust at the local crunchy store. It was an incredibly light final result, and I really loved the texture. It satisfied my sweet tooth without really being that sweet. Of course, the day after I made it my doctor just told me soy can make you gassy and to avoid it...but I don't think I can take that advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Can't give this 5 stars because I changed it so much, but it is definitely 5 stars with my modifications! I found a similar recipe online by Alton Brown and I merged the two and ended up with following changes. Used the Graham Cracker Crust I recipe from this site. Substituted Cream of coconut (from the alcoholic beverage aisle) for the orange juice concentrate and the maple syrup. Used a 1/4 cup rice milk and 1/4 cup chocolate liquor (creme de cocoa, could use any liquor i.e. coffee, orange, etc). Lastly, I increased the chocolate chips to 1.5 cups and tofu to 12 oz. Filled the crust perfectly, and set very nicely, very creamy and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I've been through several tofu pie recipes & this rates tops with me. Due to some allergy/diet issues, I did make some changes that I believe don't alter it enough to declare it another recipe. I've used homemade pie crusts (an oat one and rice chex one & sometimes none). Also, I used a subst. for the choc. chips (milk allergy) -- cocoa, marg., soy milk & sugar. Didn't have rice milk, used soy milk. I did have to sweeten it with a little stevia. I've also made it and added a sliced banana on crust before adding tofu mixture. Not only do my diabetic family members love it, but I've impressed others with a "good for you" chocolate pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
So good. My husband could not tell there was tofu in it and neither could I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth P.
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Delicious, creamy. Chocolate soy milk works as well as rice milk. Yummm! One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This pie is easy to make and REALLY yummy. You'd never guess from the taste that it contains tofu and rice milk instead of the usual high-fat cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
So good! I changed a couple things, but for my brothers that are tofu-haters, they couldn't even tell, and loved it. I used choc. soymilk, less almond extract, and didn't have oj concentrate, so used a strawberry/banana/orange juice concentrate instead. also topped it with whip cream lightly sweetened with about 2T honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States