Coconut Chocolate Dream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
So good! I changed a couple things, but for my brothers that are tofu-haters, they couldn't even tell, and loved it. I used choc. soymilk, less almond extract, and didn't have oj concentrate, so used a strawberry/banana/orange juice concentrate instead. also topped it with whip cream lightly sweetened with about 2T honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This is divine!! The only thing is...the orange juice concentrate will give it a very slight orange flavor...so if you are not a fan of that you might want to leave it out. I used chocolate soy milk instead of rice milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Can't give this 5 stars because I changed it so much, but it is definitely 5 stars with my modifications! I found a similar recipe online by Alton Brown and I merged the two and ended up with following changes. Used the Graham Cracker Crust I recipe from this site. Substituted Cream of coconut (from the alcoholic beverage aisle) for the orange juice concentrate and the maple syrup. Used a 1/4 cup rice milk and 1/4 cup chocolate liquor (creme de cocoa, could use any liquor i.e. coffee, orange, etc). Lastly, I increased the chocolate chips to 1.5 cups and tofu to 12 oz. Filled the crust perfectly, and set very nicely, very creamy and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
The highlight of my first healthy Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
So good. My husband could not tell there was tofu in it and neither could I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth P.
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Delicious, creamy. Chocolate soy milk works as well as rice milk. Yummm! One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This pie is easy to make and REALLY yummy. You'd never guess from the taste that it contains tofu and rice milk instead of the usual high-fat cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
Awsome recipe! I cut back on the almond extract to 1/8 tsp. Found that the 1/4 tsp. is a little strong. But overall it was excellent! I have made this 2 times now and it has set up perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
I like to find ways to use tofu in our daily menu without always having it "visible". This is a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Excellent with whip cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States