Coconut Chocolate Dream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was incredible! Only changes I made were I omitted the OJ since I had none. Used almond milk instead of rice milk. Used 3/4 tsp vanilla and omitted the almond extract. I used the Graham Cracker Crust #2 on this site. My husband even liked it and he hates tofu. A light, delicious dessert! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sls1956

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Excellent with whip cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
WOW! This was the definite show stealer of my dinner. I baked the coconut at 350* for about 15 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes. Used 1/4 cup chocolate soy milk, 1/4 cup chocolate liqueur and 1 tablespoon orange juice. Skipped the almond extract (didn't have). 10 oz of chocolate chips and a 14 oz package silken tofu made a FULL 8" pie. It's like a chocolate mousse pie that absolutely melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made a variation of this pie and I cannot stop eating it!! I have ulcerative colitis, and have been trying to cut out refined sugars and a few other things from my diet, but I have a massive sweet tooth and HAVE to have something for dessert each night. I didn't use coconut because I have high cholesterol, and I used Silk chocolate soymilk and actually firm tofu instead of silken. I also don't have any almond extract, so I didn't use that either. I bought an organic, sugarless graham cracker crust at the local crunchy store. It was an incredibly light final result, and I really loved the texture. It satisfied my sweet tooth without really being that sweet. Of course, the day after I made it my doctor just told me soy can make you gassy and to avoid it...but I don't think I can take that advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Can't give this 5 stars because I changed it so much, but it is definitely 5 stars with my modifications! I found a similar recipe online by Alton Brown and I merged the two and ended up with following changes. Used the Graham Cracker Crust I recipe from this site. Substituted Cream of coconut (from the alcoholic beverage aisle) for the orange juice concentrate and the maple syrup. Used a 1/4 cup rice milk and 1/4 cup chocolate liquor (creme de cocoa, could use any liquor i.e. coffee, orange, etc). Lastly, I increased the chocolate chips to 1.5 cups and tofu to 12 oz. Filled the crust perfectly, and set very nicely, very creamy and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I've been through several tofu pie recipes & this rates tops with me. Due to some allergy/diet issues, I did make some changes that I believe don't alter it enough to declare it another recipe. I've used homemade pie crusts (an oat one and rice chex one & sometimes none). Also, I used a subst. for the choc. chips (milk allergy) -- cocoa, marg., soy milk & sugar. Didn't have rice milk, used soy milk. I did have to sweeten it with a little stevia. I've also made it and added a sliced banana on crust before adding tofu mixture. Not only do my diabetic family members love it, but I've impressed others with a "good for you" chocolate pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
So good. My husband could not tell there was tofu in it and neither could I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth P.
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Delicious, creamy. Chocolate soy milk works as well as rice milk. Yummm! One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This pie is easy to make and REALLY yummy. You'd never guess from the taste that it contains tofu and rice milk instead of the usual high-fat cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
So good! I changed a couple things, but for my brothers that are tofu-haters, they couldn't even tell, and loved it. I used choc. soymilk, less almond extract, and didn't have oj concentrate, so used a strawberry/banana/orange juice concentrate instead. also topped it with whip cream lightly sweetened with about 2T honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States