Coconut Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was great! I added some sliced almonds to the coconut filling and topped the cake off with some chocolate ganache and more sliced almonds - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Very good! I toasted the coconut for a crunchier inside. Also I covered the cake with caramel sauce and garnished with fresh cherries! #1 on my recipe list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I baked it last night for my husband's 34th birthday and it turned out perfectly! I took a few reviewers' suggestions to toast the coconut and to add chopped walnuts and those really added to the flavor and texture. It's extremely chocolately and decadent---a wonderful birthday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
VERY yummy! I made a ganache-type topping for this (3/4 c. choc chips, 2 T. butter & 1/3 c. sweetned cond milk over a double boiler) and it absolutely hit the chocolate-spot for me! The kids weren't crazy about the coconut filling, but who cares?--I plan on eating all of this myself, anyway :o) This was really pretty easy to make and it baked up very well in an angelfood cake pan (I don't have a bundt pan) in 55 minutes. I did add a bit more cond milk to the coconut filling and I used a chocolate fudge cake mix. This will be my go-to chocolate cake recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Delish! I added half coconut water, half regular water to the cake batter and also added some coconut water to the condensed milk. Topped with chocolate ganache and toasted almond slices. Tastes just like a candy bar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is very good. I actually felt that there wasn't enough coconut, but of course that could be adjusted with no problems. Does anyone know of a good made-from-scratch chocolate cake recipe that would work for this instead of using a box mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This cake satisified the my chocolate/coconut craving I was having. It was moist and delicious. Instead of frosting though, I mixed up a chocolate glaze that was great on it. I also used just water instead of the oil and water to save a vew calories with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I was hoping to really love this but we didn't. It was kind of bland and boring. We even took other recipe reviewers advice and added more coconut and condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States