Coconut Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Messiest cake I've ever made! Very delicious though and filling tastes like an almond joy. A cup of sugar is quite a bit so if I make it again I will cut out at least a 1/4 cup of sugar. I also used the left over milk and chocolate chips as a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I absolutely loved this cake and it was so easy to make. After reading other reviews I was nervous to try the icing listed in recipe so made a chocolate ganache I found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The filling is great. I agree with another user that this cake is probably better without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I was really looking forward to making this cake for Valentine's Day, but unfortunately, it was very disappointing. The coconut filling in particular was a big, sticky mess! It was difficult to spread on the cake, and after sitting, it hardened so that it was very awkward to eat with a fork and not very pleasant to chew! I love the idea of dark chocolate and coconut together in a cake, but there has GOT to be a better filling than this! Also, I iced the cake as suggested by another reader by using the following: 1/2 cup evaporated milk, 1 cup sugar, 1t vanilla, 1 stick margarine, and 12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips. This was okay, but WAY too sugary--and this is from someone with the world's biggest sweet tooth! I would decrease the sugar or possibly even eliminate it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I like this cake but als made some changes... I used a granache instead of the heavy frosting on top. I also added chocolate pudding to the cake mix to add some moisture and richness to the devils food cake mix. I wish I had used sweetened condensed milk - but I did not. Overall a nice lush cake with a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsmullins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Excellent cake and filling but did use a chocolate glaze in place of icing. My better half loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETSY
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
5 STARS, USING GANACHE TO FROST INSTEAD OF RECIPE FROSTING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
cake was super tasty. I did follow another persons advice and skip the frosting to go with her recipe...9-10 oz of chocolate chips, 2 tbsp. water, and 1/2 cup of evaporated milk. I made it a 4 layer cake as specified in the recipe, however, once the cake sits for a bit, the filling gets a bit hard and is tough to cut through. Everything about the way it tastes is awesome only next time, I will just make it a two layer cake with one thick layer of filling for a bit more stability in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I am sorry I almost forgot to say thank you for a lovely cake. I made it for hubby's birthday (80 yrs. young). I made white frosting with coconut on top too. Very pretty and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
WHOA! Yes yes yes! A hit! A winner! This was amazing! the changes that I made: I only used 1/3 C sugar. BTW 14 oz. of coconut is translated to 1-3/4 and I used UNSWEETENED. I used Creamy Chocoate Frosting to glaze this please read my review on that because I made lots of changes to kinda fit this and that. I dont know people I'm new here! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States