Coconut Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I don't use cake mixes, so I substituted Black Chocolate Cake (with some modifications) submitted to this site by Jeanie. The coconut filling is great. But for the chocolate frosting, I wanted semi-sweet rather than milk chocolate. For this reason I heated 1/2c evap milk, 1 cup sugar, 1t vanilla, 1 stick margarine, and 12ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips. What a great cake! Thanks Leslie! A Chocoholics dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
It's true, it's true! It's just like an almond joy. Major yummy-ness for a cake filling. We had the filling with yellow cake - my daughter's birthday request - and a chocolate buttercream frosting. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Sinfully delicious and show stopping masterpiece! However, I didn't use this frosting because, truthfully, it just didn't appear appetizing to me. I made the cake in 8-inch layers for a nice, tall cake. The filling is to die for, and is reminiscent of an Almond Joy candy bar. I poured a glaze over the top of 4 T. butter melted with 5 ozs. of semi-sweet chocolate, allowing it to run down the sides of the cake. Finally, I topped the cake with toasted, chopped almonds. Hubby was in his glory, and said this was worthy of more than 5 stars, the perfect combination of chocolate, gooey and crunchy. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
5 STARS, USING GANACHE TO FROST INSTEAD OF RECIPE FROSTING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2000
Everybody loves this cake! When I make it though, I use coffee instead of water in the cake mix. I do this on all my chocolate cakes, it makes them more moist, and helps smooth the chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Wow! This is a great recipe! I agree with other reviewers, that there is a mistake in the frosting recipe section- I didn't try it, but just reading it you can see there is something missing. I decided that I wanted a candy-bar type coating on this cake, so I made a ganache from 1/2 cup evaporated milk, 9 oz. chocolate chips and approximately 2 tb. water. This gave me a pourable consistency and I spread a thin layer over the cake. It had a dark glossy finish just like a candy bar, but wasn't too sweet. Fantastic!!!! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oriana
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This cake totally blew me away. I made it for a 3-person birthday party and it was gone within 2 days. Impossibly awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oriana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
The filling for this recipe is absolutely delicious and I will use it again. Other then that I did not follow the recipe. I used a very moist chocolate cake and found that it did not need any extra icing. The filling is so good there is nothing else really needed. Besides a tall glass of milk or coffee! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
cake was super tasty. I did follow another persons advice and skip the frosting to go with her recipe...9-10 oz of chocolate chips, 2 tbsp. water, and 1/2 cup of evaporated milk. I made it a 4 layer cake as specified in the recipe, however, once the cake sits for a bit, the filling gets a bit hard and is tough to cut through. Everything about the way it tastes is awesome only next time, I will just make it a two layer cake with one thick layer of filling for a bit more stability in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Excellent cake and filling but did use a chocolate glaze in place of icing. My better half loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETSY

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States