Coconut Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Sinfully delicious and show stopping masterpiece! However, I didn't use this frosting because, truthfully, it just didn't appear appetizing to me. I made the cake in 8-inch layers for a nice, tall cake. The filling is to die for, and is reminiscent of an Almond Joy candy bar. I poured a glaze over the top of 4 T. butter melted with 5 ozs. of semi-sweet chocolate, allowing it to run down the sides of the cake. Finally, I topped the cake with toasted, chopped almonds. Hubby was in his glory, and said this was worthy of more than 5 stars, the perfect combination of chocolate, gooey and crunchy. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Wow! This is a great recipe! I agree with other reviewers, that there is a mistake in the frosting recipe section- I didn't try it, but just reading it you can see there is something missing. I decided that I wanted a candy-bar type coating on this cake, so I made a ganache from 1/2 cup evaporated milk, 9 oz. chocolate chips and approximately 2 tb. water. This gave me a pourable consistency and I spread a thin layer over the cake. It had a dark glossy finish just like a candy bar, but wasn't too sweet. Fantastic!!!! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I don't use cake mixes, so I substituted Black Chocolate Cake (with some modifications) submitted to this site by Jeanie. The coconut filling is great. But for the chocolate frosting, I wanted semi-sweet rather than milk chocolate. For this reason I heated 1/2c evap milk, 1 cup sugar, 1t vanilla, 1 stick margarine, and 12ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips. What a great cake! Thanks Leslie! A Chocoholics dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2000
Everybody loves this cake! When I make it though, I use coffee instead of water in the cake mix. I do this on all my chocolate cakes, it makes them more moist, and helps smooth the chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
The coconut filling tastes really good, however, it became really hard when it was time to serve the cake (almost impossible to cut through). Maybe it was because I put it in the fridge? Also, after reading the reviews, I ended up making a chocolate glaze using some evaporated milk and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Next time I won't put it in the fridge and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
The filling for this recipe is absolutely delicious and I will use it again. Other then that I did not follow the recipe. I used a very moist chocolate cake and found that it did not need any extra icing. The filling is so good there is nothing else really needed. Besides a tall glass of milk or coffee! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Good Coconut filling, but the icing on this cake is just awful. It just turned into a crunbly mess. I will keep the recipe for the yumy filling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This cake was a hit at my house. Everyone loved it and I had to send some home with everyone. I did however agree with everyone else that the frosting recipe was not correct. I used one of my own frostings and it turned out to be great. I will definitly make this again. It is for sure a candy bar cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The coconut filling was delicious! Unfortunately the chocolate cake ruined it. I dipped the leftover coconut in the chocolate-frosting naples34102 suggested (4 T butter and 140 grams dark chocolate) and that really gave value to the coconut, way better than bounty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Very Veron
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This cake is awesome! The coconut filling is indeed to die for. I would've give this a 5 star if not for the frosting. i used the shiny chocolate glaze recipe instead. My kids had fun decorating the cake with candies. Thanks for sharing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Very Veron

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States