Coconut Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Sinfully delicious and show stopping masterpiece! However, I didn't use this frosting because, truthfully, it just didn't appear appetizing to me. I made the cake in 8-inch layers for a nice, tall cake. The filling is to die for, and is reminiscent of an Almond Joy candy bar. I poured a glaze over the top of 4 T. butter melted with 5 ozs. of semi-sweet chocolate, allowing it to run down the sides of the cake. Finally, I topped the cake with toasted, chopped almonds. Hubby was in his glory, and said this was worthy of more than 5 stars, the perfect combination of chocolate, gooey and crunchy. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Wow! This is a great recipe! I agree with other reviewers, that there is a mistake in the frosting recipe section- I didn't try it, but just reading it you can see there is something missing. I decided that I wanted a candy-bar type coating on this cake, so I made a ganache from 1/2 cup evaporated milk, 9 oz. chocolate chips and approximately 2 tb. water. This gave me a pourable consistency and I spread a thin layer over the cake. It had a dark glossy finish just like a candy bar, but wasn't too sweet. Fantastic!!!! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I don't use cake mixes, so I substituted Black Chocolate Cake (with some modifications) submitted to this site by Jeanie. The coconut filling is great. But for the chocolate frosting, I wanted semi-sweet rather than milk chocolate. For this reason I heated 1/2c evap milk, 1 cup sugar, 1t vanilla, 1 stick margarine, and 12ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips. What a great cake! Thanks Leslie! A Chocoholics dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2000
Everybody loves this cake! When I make it though, I use coffee instead of water in the cake mix. I do this on all my chocolate cakes, it makes them more moist, and helps smooth the chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
The coconut filling tastes really good, however, it became really hard when it was time to serve the cake (almost impossible to cut through). Maybe it was because I put it in the fridge? Also, after reading the reviews, I ended up making a chocolate glaze using some evaporated milk and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Next time I won't put it in the fridge and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
The filling for this recipe is absolutely delicious and I will use it again. Other then that I did not follow the recipe. I used a very moist chocolate cake and found that it did not need any extra icing. The filling is so good there is nothing else really needed. Besides a tall glass of milk or coffee! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Good Coconut filling, but the icing on this cake is just awful. It just turned into a crunbly mess. I will keep the recipe for the yumy filling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This cake was a hit at my house. Everyone loved it and I had to send some home with everyone. I did however agree with everyone else that the frosting recipe was not correct. I used one of my own frostings and it turned out to be great. I will definitly make this again. It is for sure a candy bar cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The coconut filling was delicious! Unfortunately the chocolate cake ruined it. I dipped the leftover coconut in the chocolate-frosting naples34102 suggested (4 T butter and 140 grams dark chocolate) and that really gave value to the coconut, way better than bounty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Very Veron
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This cake is awesome! The coconut filling is indeed to die for. I would've give this a 5 star if not for the frosting. i used the shiny chocolate glaze recipe instead. My kids had fun decorating the cake with candies. Thanks for sharing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Very Veron

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States