Coconut Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
It's true, it's true! It's just like an almond joy. Major yummy-ness for a cake filling. We had the filling with yellow cake - my daughter's birthday request - and a chocolate buttercream frosting. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Good Coconut filling, but the icing on this cake is just awful. It just turned into a crunbly mess. I will keep the recipe for the yumy filling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I'm sorry to have say that I give this cake 1 star. It just did not turn out as good as I had hope. It just fell apart. The filling didn't taste like a candy bar it tasted more like macaroons. I just didn't care for it at all.:\ " sigh"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Photo by Very Veron
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This cake is awesome! The coconut filling is indeed to die for. I would've give this a 5 star if not for the frosting. i used the shiny chocolate glaze recipe instead. My kids had fun decorating the cake with candies. Thanks for sharing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Very Veron
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The filling was to die for however I didn't like the frosting, so that is why I gave it a four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
The coconut filling tastes really good, however, it became really hard when it was time to serve the cake (almost impossible to cut through). Maybe it was because I put it in the fridge? Also, after reading the reviews, I ended up making a chocolate glaze using some evaporated milk and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Next time I won't put it in the fridge and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
i didn't have a chocolate cake mix on hand so I used a white mix and made a vanilla version. I made the filling the same except that I substituted 1/4 of sugar with 1/4 cup of icing sugar (personal taste preference). I used dessert topping mix for the icing. It was amazing. I would give it 5 stars but I changed to much. I can't wait to try the chocolate version!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
The filling for this recipe is absolutely delicious and I will use it again. Other then that I did not follow the recipe. I used a very moist chocolate cake and found that it did not need any extra icing. The filling is so good there is nothing else really needed. Besides a tall glass of milk or coffee! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The coconut filling was delicious! Unfortunately the chocolate cake ruined it. I dipped the leftover coconut in the chocolate-frosting naples34102 suggested (4 T butter and 140 grams dark chocolate) and that really gave value to the coconut, way better than bounty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Sinfully delicious and show stopping masterpiece! However, I didn't use this frosting because, truthfully, it just didn't appear appetizing to me. I made the cake in 8-inch layers for a nice, tall cake. The filling is to die for, and is reminiscent of an Almond Joy candy bar. I poured a glaze over the top of 4 T. butter melted with 5 ozs. of semi-sweet chocolate, allowing it to run down the sides of the cake. Finally, I topped the cake with toasted, chopped almonds. Hubby was in his glory, and said this was worthy of more than 5 stars, the perfect combination of chocolate, gooey and crunchy. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States