Coconut Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
It's true, it's true! It's just like an almond joy. Major yummy-ness for a cake filling. We had the filling with yellow cake - my daughter's birthday request - and a chocolate buttercream frosting. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Good Coconut filling, but the icing on this cake is just awful. It just turned into a crunbly mess. I will keep the recipe for the yumy filling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I'm sorry to have say that I give this cake 1 star. It just did not turn out as good as I had hope. It just fell apart. The filling didn't taste like a candy bar it tasted more like macaroons. I just didn't care for it at all.:\ " sigh"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Photo by Very Veron
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This cake is awesome! The coconut filling is indeed to die for. I would've give this a 5 star if not for the frosting. i used the shiny chocolate glaze recipe instead. My kids had fun decorating the cake with candies. Thanks for sharing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Very Veron
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The filling was to die for however I didn't like the frosting, so that is why I gave it a four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
The coconut filling tastes really good, however, it became really hard when it was time to serve the cake (almost impossible to cut through). Maybe it was because I put it in the fridge? Also, after reading the reviews, I ended up making a chocolate glaze using some evaporated milk and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Next time I won't put it in the fridge and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
i didn't have a chocolate cake mix on hand so I used a white mix and made a vanilla version. I made the filling the same except that I substituted 1/4 of sugar with 1/4 cup of icing sugar (personal taste preference). I used dessert topping mix for the icing. It was amazing. I would give it 5 stars but I changed to much. I can't wait to try the chocolate version!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
The filling for this recipe is absolutely delicious and I will use it again. Other then that I did not follow the recipe. I used a very moist chocolate cake and found that it did not need any extra icing. The filling is so good there is nothing else really needed. Besides a tall glass of milk or coffee! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The coconut filling was delicious! Unfortunately the chocolate cake ruined it. I dipped the leftover coconut in the chocolate-frosting naples34102 suggested (4 T butter and 140 grams dark chocolate) and that really gave value to the coconut, way better than bounty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Sinfully delicious and show stopping masterpiece! However, I didn't use this frosting because, truthfully, it just didn't appear appetizing to me. I made the cake in 8-inch layers for a nice, tall cake. The filling is to die for, and is reminiscent of an Almond Joy candy bar. I poured a glaze over the top of 4 T. butter melted with 5 ozs. of semi-sweet chocolate, allowing it to run down the sides of the cake. Finally, I topped the cake with toasted, chopped almonds. Hubby was in his glory, and said this was worthy of more than 5 stars, the perfect combination of chocolate, gooey and crunchy. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States