Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This was so good!! I've tried other coconut chicken recipes and they have never turned crispy. These were crispy and flavorful. I substituted lemon juice for the lime juice but followed the other directions. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was fantastic!! I used fresh lime juice instead of from a bottle and I didn't grind the coconut into crumbs, I put it in shredded with the panko instead. I also added shredded coconut to the sauce while it was cooking. Next time I think I will add small pineapple chunks to it as well. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I left out the shredded coconut and added ginger and hoisin to the mayo/coconut sauce. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
The chicken was excellent. So crispy right from the oven. The sauce was kind of bland so I added some coconut extract and some flaked coconut to the pot and it was good. My family enjoyed this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Sorry I did not really like this. The coconut milk made the chicken go a funny texture. There wasn't really much flavour and the coconut on the outside browned quicker than the breadcrumbs. Not one for us I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
It was tasted but overall a little too fattening for my family. And the breaking slid off of the chicken too easily when cut to eat. I would possibly make again, but not my favorite recipe, personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dear_teresa
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Delicious!! We added more coconut than asked for, probably the best chicken I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Flavorful recipe that combines flavor and texture. I added a dash of curry to the marinade. I also blended all the dry ingredients together in a blender which made a great texture on the chicken. Served with a jasmine rice and didn't include the mayo. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was a really easy, yummy recipe and very kid-friendly, too! We all enjoyed it and I would definitely make it again. My son didn't care for the sauce, but my husband and I liked it a lot. The only change I made was to omit the salt (which I usually do) because the soy sauce is already salty. Thanks a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This came out very well. I was a bit skeptical, I didn't think the flavors would seep into the meat well, but they actually did. I added a bit of ginger to my marinade, and also used sweet soy (it's all I had on hand, and I thought it would go well), turned out nicely! Also got a nice crisp from the panko breading, though after baking it seemed to want to come right off the chicken, but with careful handling I kept it all in place. I will make it again for sure! EDIT: Forgot to mention the sauce part. I felt like it would really lack on flavor if I just mixed the coconut milk with the mayonnaise, so what I did instead was put a bit of orange marmalade in the mix with some soy, mayo, the coconut milk, and a pinch of brown sugar. It worked well with the dish for us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States