Coconut Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
So, I have to admit, I probably can't give this recipe a totally fair feedback because I did change it up a little. I doubled the recipe to start. I doubled everything but the pepper flakes. I used coriander instead of cinnamon and just did a dash of cinnamon. I did 4 times as much curry powder as stated because out of all the reviews I read, people stated that it needed it. I personally think that is where it went wrong for me. Not positive but something was just a little bit off for me. My fault, not the recipe... To remedy this I added a bit more honey to cut the over spiced taste. I also added some frozen peas for more veggie and color. All that being said, my husband absolutely loved this. My oldest son said it was good. My youngest and I liked it well enough to eat it. So I have to try this again but follow the recipe completely with no wavering... good enough to give it another shot. :) I am trying to cut back on my carbs a little so I had mine over roasted cauliflower with just a small spoonful of rice on top, sprinkled with cilantro. My family ate it over rice with a little cauliflower on the side... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
made it for the second time tonight and its still pretty good, i think the first time i made it i threw in some snap peas. followed the recipe exactly tonight except i dont have cumin seed so i just heated about 1/4 tsp of powder in its place and halved the chicken breast and onion. left everything else at its regular measurements. mixed up a batch of my own improvised coconut rice. definitely a keeper, and im not even a huge curry fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
It smells delicious and was exactly what I was looking for in terms of a curried dish. Unfortunately it was a little low on flavor once we were actually eating it. I'm still not sure what exactly to add but preferably something that will add a more savory or salty edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
A blend of delicious flavours. Delicate coconut, with a nice zing on the lips from the chilli pepper flakes. I whipped up this recipe for two in 45 minutes. I substituted the cumin seeds with a 1/2 tsp. of cumin powder. I added half the chopped onions and half minced garlic in with it to give more flavour to the chicken. I cooked the chicken most of the way before adding the oil and veggies (tip: along with the carrots, I added broccoli crowns. It holds in the flavours really well!) For the spices I skipped the cinnamon, added an extra dash of pepper flakes, and upped the curry powder to 2 tsp. I also substituted the salt with lemon pepper then poured in the coconut milk right away so the flavours could blend as it simmered. 5 stars, I couldn't believe how easy it was. Next time, I'll try fresh coriander/ cilantro garnish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Quick/easy weeknight meal. Good, not great flavor blend, since I had to tone down the spice for "sensitive" palates/wimps, so that might have been the issue, so will try it again with more curry/cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My husband has had authentic curry while on business in England, but had never had it made with coconut milk. He absolutely loved this recipe. I used half the crushed red pepper and double the curry powder called for, and it came out wonderful. This will become a new family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was delicious! I made it because I had pretty much all the ingredients. If you don't, it's going to be a pricey meal because there are a lot of ingredients. We served it with brown rice, but was also really tasty in a wrap. Tip on ginger: We keep ours in our freezer and it has lasted months! We bring it out for our favorite Thai meals. I think it's also a little easier to grate when frozen ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Very good and easy made it with just veggies and cous cous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I took the advice of other reviewers and added more curry. I used Patak's mild curry paste in a jar and ended up using 3 huge tablespoons. And plenty of salt and pepper. I also doubled the ginger. It was pretty tasty and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Oh, this was soooo good! It tastes very much like a chicken curry dish I used to get at my favorite Thai restaurant! The honey and spices gave it a delicious taste. Can't wait to share this with guests! A few changes I made was to use coconut oil instead of vegetable, omitted the cummin seeds, ground cummin,and butter, and I grated the carrots and garlic. I also put a few sprigs of cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States