Coconut Cheese Flan (Flan de Coco y Queso) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made some changes though. I did not have evaporated milk or coco lopez (had only coconut milk). Instead I used 200 ml of fresh cream, 11/2 cups milk and half cup of pineapple concentrate. Also I made a topping of sweetened coconut flavoured with pineapple by stir frying 1 cup of freshly grated coconut with a tablespoon of butter, few tablespoonfuls of pineapple juice, sufficient sugar to taste and 3 tablespoonfuls of white rum until semi dry. Everybody loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This recipe was a big hit at the party I brought it to. I didn't have coconut milk so I used regular milk and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Excellent recipe!!! this flan is delicious!...the texture is more like a cheesecake..Everyone loved it..I did have to bake it for 90 minutes....thank you!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have this flan in the oven right now. The batter tastes heavenly! I used coconut extract (1 Tablespoon) as I didn't have any coconut-flavored rum in the house, and didn't really want to face any stores on Christmas Eve. I also added 2 Tablespoons instead of 2 teaspoons of vanilla, simply because I like a really strong flavor. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5, well 2 reasons actually, and I may come back and modify later, but the first is I haven't actually finished it or eaten it yet, but so far, by all accounts it is shaping up just beautifully! My ONLY problem is that the amount of flan mixture is much too much for my 9-inch round by 3.5-inch high baking dish, and I had to make a second batch of caramel and divide it into 2 separated flans....Maybe this is just my experience but the mixture filled my dish to the brim, and I was afraid of it being too thick, and spilling over, so I used a 2nd pan and divided the mixture to make 2 flans. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staceylyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Perfect Coconut Flan...Is Creamy and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Millie Irizarry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
PERFECT! I loved it. I always make the caramel in the microwave (not the ideal way, but it works). 1 cup sugar + 1/2 cup water in a pyrex. 15 minutes later (microwaves are all different though) I've got the perfect colored amber caramel. I bought just one 8oz block of cream cheese because I didn't pay attention, so I used that and it was still great. I loved the flavor, the texture, the consistency, the ease to make...everything. I only had an 8 X 3 pan, so it ended up taller (thicker) and therefore I had to bake about 30 min longer. No biggie. Thank you for yet another delicious recipe, Milly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is my own recipe, and these were MY instructions about the caramel: "Add the sugar to the metal pan and melt over the stove at low-medium heat moving it with a wooden spoon until golden color. Turn the heat off a little before the desired color as it will continue to darken and it will burn if you are not careful. Very carefully and using oven mitts, swirl pan around while sugar is still soft to cover bottom and sides. It will get thicker as it cools and eventually harden as a lollipop. Set pan aside to cool." The recipe was changed by the website; Im ok with that, however the reasons I do the caramel straight into the pan are: 1) melted sugar is VERY hot and the less transfer the better 2) one less pot to clean. If you must use a separate pot (for ex. for ramekins), then I suggest a heavy non-stick saucepan with a good non-metal handle instead of a skillet. The melted sugar will flow out better. I also DONT use a towel under the pan. Im sure it doesn't afect the quality of the final product; you decide how to do the 'baine Marie' (baño de María in Spanish). Hope you like my recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I love the rich simplicity of flans. This is an excellent, creamy and rich coconut flan. My guests loved it and I was able to make it ahead so it was a quick and impressive dessert on the fly. The only change I made was to bake in individual custard cups. Thanks for sharing this lovely and delicious dessert Milly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States