Coconut Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
These were awesome! Incredible flavor and what could be simpler? I have to wonder if those that thought these were bland used Coconut Milk instead of Cream of Coconut. Look for Cream of Coconut in the Liquor Isle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ThexWildxRose
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
YUM!!!!! My man wasn't too thrilled by the idea of these carrots, and I myself am not a major fan of cooked carrots either but I do love coconut, and I am always using coconut milk in things, crème of coconut sounded good, so thought eh… why not? Because could this recipe BE any easier? I can’t get over how simple and yet how very tasty these were!! I couldn't get enough. And my picky Bo ate them down! Will be making again! So easy! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThexWildxRose

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I always make candied carrots as part of my Thanksgiving dinner. This year I tried this recipe and it is fantastic and oh, so easy. Just a little tip...after the carrots were cooked, I added a little cornstarch mixed with water to thicken. Looks lovely and so dramatic when served. FABULOUS RECIPE! Oh, be sure to use CREAM OF COCONUT, not coconut milk. Big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I made the mistake of using coconut milk and had to improvise quickly. Added sugar, butter and vanilla extract, which made it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by andee
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made this using one pound of baby carrots and a little more than 1/3 cup of cream of coconut (the can I had in the house was 15 ounces). After cooking the carrots and cream of coconut, I put the mixture in the food processor and mashed them. They were a really tasty side dish. Both my husband and I enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was so simple and REALLY good!. I did make some additions as I was bringing this for a side dish to a potluck. I added cayanne pepper (about 1/8 t) and a few good shakes of red pepper flakes while it was simmering. I also toasted unsweetened coconut and sprinkled that on top after cooking, along with a handful of chopped cilantro. I got lots and lots of compliments on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
Overall, it tasted OK... but it was hard to taste the difference between it and normal carrots. I'd recommend this recipe, though - and use baby carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Sweet, Easy, "mother-in-law" approved! Even the kids liked them. The taste is not a wow, overpowering taste, just something alittle different and enjoyable. I don't know how I will go back to regular steamed carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
The carrots tasted horrible! Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
not that great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States