Coconut Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This recipe is a life saver. My 2-year old granddaughter has severe allergies to dairy, egg, and peanuts. There are not too many chewy recipes available. I substituted soy milk. I did use some gel food coloring to make them look prettier. Thanks so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
These are the best, You will need to buy coconut from the store. WE tried doing it with a fresh coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I substituted almond extract for the vanilla. I put an almond in the center of each ball and then chilled for one hour. I melted dark chocolate wafers and dipped each ball and chilled again. They taste pretty close to the Almond Joy but a lot fresher! They were a big hit at the Church bazaar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I am a finatic about coconut. I love this recipie. The candies set up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I like to try to bake with my two year old grandson. He loved making these and the best part was eating them. Yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I made this candy tonight for my 95-year-old mother for Mother's Day--it's always been a favorite of hers--she made it in the 40's and 50's. It's an easy recipe, but my suggestion is to be sure you cook the milk/sugar mixture to the temperature indicated in the recipe, and it will turn out perfect. The 20 minute time given is probably just an estimate. This is a very sweet candy, so you may want to eat only one piece at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Tastes like a coconut praline - very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I decided that just twelve weren't going to be enough for my family, so I doubled the batch. I had to dump the sugar/milk mixture into a stock pot not too long into the cooking process bacause it started to overflow. When I started scooping it out onto the wax paper, it started spreading really bad, so I waited a little bit to let it cool, when it was a consistance of creamed butter and sugar I scooped the rest out and it is doing well setting up. I should have read some more reviews...as the double batch made over fifty treats. I am going to drizzle or dip some in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe was good. I love really sweet stuff, however, this was too much! Next time I will add more coconut to balance out the sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Vickers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I add a little less sugar and changed it up by dipping them in chocolate. Daughter loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey & Addie's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States