Coconut Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
horrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
These are very sweet! I had to add extra coconut because the consistency wasn't thick enough even though I got it to the desired temp listed in the recipe. I think using UNSWEETENED coconut would be better. As others have said, this recipe makes a lot of candies. I scooped up almost 60.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I substituted almond extract for the vanilla. I put an almond in the center of each ball and then chilled for one hour. I melted dark chocolate wafers and dipped each ball and chilled again. They taste pretty close to the Almond Joy but a lot fresher! They were a big hit at the Church bazaar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I add a little less sugar and changed it up by dipping them in chocolate. Daughter loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey & Addie's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I decided that just twelve weren't going to be enough for my family, so I doubled the batch. I had to dump the sugar/milk mixture into a stock pot not too long into the cooking process bacause it started to overflow. When I started scooping it out onto the wax paper, it started spreading really bad, so I waited a little bit to let it cool, when it was a consistance of creamed butter and sugar I scooped the rest out and it is doing well setting up. I should have read some more reviews...as the double batch made over fifty treats. I am going to drizzle or dip some in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I followed the instructions exactly, and they did not set up right. This was my first try really making candy though. I am sure that it is an art. Even though they did not set up, they were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This recipe was okay...I thought it was way to sugary and so eating just one kinda made me a little sick. I think that if you were to add a little less sugar and maybe change it up by dipping them in chocolate, even just one side it would look pretty and break up the flavor just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe was good. I love really sweet stuff, however, this was too much! Next time I will add more coconut to balance out the sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Vickers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I double the recipe to make as Christmas gifts this year, based on all the good reviews. I boiled and boiled the milk and sugar with a candy thermometer for about 20 minutes and the temp never reached the 240 mark. I finally gave up and poured it out on 2 cookie sheets, hoping it would set and I could cut into bars. Of course, they never really solidified, so I added some mini-choc chips, poured it into jars and called it "Coconut Ice Cream Topping". LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Tastes like a coconut praline - very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States