Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Cream cheese frosting with coconut on top was a good idea. The cake itself wasn't as moist as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Huyett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I don't use coconut extract, so I just substituted vanilla. I also didn't have buttermilk so I made some by heating a cup of milk for thirty seconds in the microwave and adding 1 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice. I did this before I assembled the cake because it needs time to thicken. The cake rose perfectly and came out of the pan easily and it was very fluffy and sweet. Next time I'll use grated coconut instead of flaked just for a different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I hate coconut, but I wanted to make this cake for a friend. I am puzzled by the reviews that said they had a hard time getting cake out of pan? The one seasoned baker said the cake needed soda. Why did the majority of the cakes turn out perfectly (mine included)? Did they use buttermilk that was lowfat? Coconut not mixed in well? (I added mine to the flour mixture). Sugar and butter not mixed long enough??? According to my friend and my family, it came out moist and wonderful. Anyone have an idea?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I absolutely LOVED this recipe! I was not a big coconut cake lover but I wanted to try this recipe. I am so glad I did! It came out very moist and delicious. I did not have the coconut extract so I subsituted vanilla instead. It still came out great. Thanks Dannis! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe! I topped the cake with a cream cheese frosting, sprinkled with more coconut. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made this for my father's birthday and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cissi Hansen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This recipe makes perfect mini-cupcakes! I have used this recipe for both bridal and baby showers. However, I thaw a 6oz. package of frozen grated coconut to use instead of the flaked; I just prefer the texture. The cake is so good, it doesn't even need frosting. But I can't resist guilding the lily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mardi Mayo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abbeville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I think that this recipe has the potential to be really great but its missing something. I bake all the time and I was very sad when my cake didn't rise. It was very packy and like others the top cooked first and it was hard to get out of the pan and had this greasy texture to it. After searching high and low for a coconut cake and consulting with other baking friends I think that baking soda is what is missing. Will try again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Made this cake for Valentine's Day...turned out very moist and was a hit with my boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is an excellent recipe - it is very moist and has converted a lot of non-coconut cake eating people to eat coconut cake. It is also easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States