Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Excellent! I followed one suggestion and glazed the cooling cake with reduced apricot preserves, to facilitate a healthy sprinkling of additional flaked coconut. I also put a small amount of coconut into the prepared pan, which I've done for other coconut cakes to provide a slightly caramelized crusty topping to the finished cake. All in all, a great cake with lots of coconut flavor, nice texture and color! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I thought this was DELICIOUS just make sure you GREASE and FLOUR the pan, because I accidentally flopped it. ALSO: wait until cool otherwise, it won't look too pretty. Otherwise; two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I made this cake for a friend of mine who requested something with coconuts in it. I baked 2 cakes: a 7-inch and a 3-inch (round). I cut the recipe in half. Only had to bake it about 20 minutes in these types of pans. Rises nicely. I greased and floured the pans and the cakes slipped out of them very easily. I used "best white icing ever" from this website and added a half-cup of finely grated coconut to it. She loved it. Oh and also, I used coconut rum instead of coconut extract because I couldn't find any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
The cake seems moist and flavorful, but even with Baker's Joy in a non-stick bundt pan, the cake stuck, which has never happened to me before. I took it out of the oven and let it cool for 15 minutes before trying to turn it out, which is also what I normally do. Also, there's no way this cake will fit into a ten cup pan -- I used it in a regular 12-cup pan, and it rose right up to the top. I thought it looked like a lot of batter, and I was wondering about the tablespoon of baking powder. Didn't overflow, though. Because of the patches in the top of the cake, I melted 1/2 cup of apricot preserves with a little water, poured it over the cake, and covered it with shredded coconut, so it looks like a snowball cake now. Only other changes I made were to add 1 tsp of vanilla and I only had 3/4 cup of buttermilk so I topped it off with regular milk. That shouldn't have caused sticking. Tastes good, though. *edited to up the rating to four stars. The flavor was great and everyone raved. Next time, I will just prepare the pans differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Cream cheese frosting with coconut on top was a good idea. The cake itself wasn't as moist as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I don't use coconut extract, so I just substituted vanilla. I also didn't have buttermilk so I made some by heating a cup of milk for thirty seconds in the microwave and adding 1 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice. I did this before I assembled the cake because it needs time to thicken. The cake rose perfectly and came out of the pan easily and it was very fluffy and sweet. Next time I'll use grated coconut instead of flaked just for a different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I hate coconut, but I wanted to make this cake for a friend. I am puzzled by the reviews that said they had a hard time getting cake out of pan? The one seasoned baker said the cake needed soda. Why did the majority of the cakes turn out perfectly (mine included)? Did they use buttermilk that was lowfat? Coconut not mixed in well? (I added mine to the flour mixture). Sugar and butter not mixed long enough??? According to my friend and my family, it came out moist and wonderful. Anyone have an idea?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I absolutely LOVED this recipe! I was not a big coconut cake lover but I wanted to try this recipe. I am so glad I did! It came out very moist and delicious. I did not have the coconut extract so I subsituted vanilla instead. It still came out great. Thanks Dannis! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe! I topped the cake with a cream cheese frosting, sprinkled with more coconut. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made this for my father's birthday and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cissi Hansen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States