Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was pretty good...but I think could have been a little softer of a cake. It was slightly dense...but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This cake was FULL of coconut flavor. It was very ,moist and all of my guests loved it. The only problem I had was that I cooked it in a rectangle pyrex dish. IT looked light and fluffy when i took it our of the oven, but fell shortly after. I am not sure what the problem was, but I will try the cake again in a bunt pan. All in all the taste was great, just what I was looking for in a coconut cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This reciepe was wonderful! The only thing I added was 1 tsp of baking soda. I used cream cheese icing and then I sprinkled coconut flakes on the top. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
HECK YES! This is what I was looking for. I only used 4 eggs, added vanilla and cut the sugar by a 1/3 cup. Next time I might add a little extra coconut extract. I drizzled with a chocolate glaze - cocoa powder, powdered sugar and milk. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is an excelent cake and i wouldn't change a thing. it goes great with cream chese wipped icing mixed and sprinkled with coconut. also pouring fresh coconut milk over it works great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
i use 4 eggs only , it can be use as a base for many frosting cakes , very moist i use 3 -9 inches pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
My new favorite cake! I've made cupcakes with this twice. The first time I made a coconut cream cheese frosting which was a bit much. The second time I used chocolate frosting - delicious! My 3 year son prefers them plain and will eat 3 cupcakes in a row. People who said they didn't like coconut loved these. Amazing, wonderful flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Really enjoyed this cake. Used coconut milk in place of buttermilk, and a tsp of vanilla instead of the extract. Also frosted it with a coconut buttercream frosting. We thought this cake was perfect for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
The cake was alright. I think I'll keep searching. If I try it again I'll take someone's suggestion of grinding the coconut in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very good! I loved it, and so did everyone else (that likes coconut). It tastes best the first day or two - the taste and texture deteriorates a bit after that. I couldn't resist eating some warm out of the oven. Awesome! I ought to mention that I used natural dried grated coconut, not angel flake, so it was in tiny pieces, and unsweetened. The recipe seems to be intended for this type of coconut. If you use the grated coconut, you will not need to cut back on the amount of sugar, or chop the coconut in the blender. I hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States