Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Very moist, good texture. I only added 4 eggs and it has an eggy-taste, so glad I didn't put the 5 in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
5 stars. This cake was very easy and delicious. It is a real keeper.I made a white icing with coconut extract and them put coconut all over the cake. I will be making this again next week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
7 6 10 Followed suggestions, adding a teaspoon baking soda, one less egg, half cup less sugar, half teaspoon more coconut extract, adding a teaspoon of vanilla extract. It stuck to the pan big time. I ended up mixing the cake & (cream cheese) frosting together. I used a cookie scoop to tray them. Drizzled melted chocolate chips (with a little shortening after it was melted) over & sprinkling with shredded coconut. The cake, before I crumbled it, was pretty good. Sweet enough with reduced sugar. I'd add the egg, too. Mine was low in the middle (the part not touching the pan). I think the denseness problem would be caused by not mixing enough between egg additions. I think the additional egg would solve it. I used a cup of unsweetened coconut & extract, but t still wasn't very coconutty-storebrand extract. The coconut babies I made were not bad. I think chocolate frosting would have been better since it was more like a candy than cake. Tasted similar to what's left in the cake pan after the cake is served. :? :) They were pretty. Served them on a silver tray. Birthday candles stuck in pretty well. They were still quite sticky so I dipped the bottoms in graham cracker crumbs. Refrigerated them before & after scooping to help retain the shape. Oh, if you use the mixer when adding the coconut, be prepared to scrape it off your beaters. Not a big deal, but realize it will need it. And, an hour is too long. 'About forty five minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
just made this for my birthday. sorely disappointed. the only thing i did diff is subbed vanilla for coconut extract and used coconut milk instead of buttermilk - figured it would equal the same consistency and coconut flavor. but those changes didnt even matter, bc with 5 eggs.. thats all you could taste anyway. maybe it's bc i lean towards vegan and really only like eggs for their binding properties, but this was ridiculous eggy. and yes it is moist but thats only bc its so dense! (not in a good way) i pretty much had to shovel it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Ridiculously, amazingly good. Used a bundt pan and it came out perfectly. Frosted with vanilla cream cheese frosting and topped with toasted coconut. Will use this as a base recipe for future cakes also (sub vanilla extract and omit the coconut in the batter...easy!). Not low fat, but who cares when it's this good?! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
RRRRRRRRICO!!! Delicious, my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was an incredibly delicious cake. I will most definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corpse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
OMG! What a great cake! Did as other suggested and put in two teaspoons of coconut extract. This was the only change I made. It was incredible! Moist and full of flavor. I put coconut cream cheese frosting on top with shredded coconut and it was a winner. Will keep this in my book and definately be a staple for Easter in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I loved this cake! I was happy to find a coconut cake that didn't require a mix! I cut the sugar by 1/3 cup. I made it in two 9" rounds and it made a beautiful layer cake. A couple of things to keep in mind - this cake is dense - but so delicious. Another thing, you really do need to grease your pan(s) well. One of my layers came apart, so I did some restructuring. The pan that I greased really well came out perfectly. I got so many compliments on this cake - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States