Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Turned out PERFECT!!! I used 4 eggs, regular milke instead of buttermilk, and self-rising flour so I got to leave out the baking power and salt to make the recipe easier. I took it to my grandpa's 93rd birthday it was gone in 4 minutes. Everybody LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Delicious and moist! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babooshka76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Really, really good! I think it needs a touch of vanilla, but other than that, it's pretty darn good the way it is. Holds up really well - used it as the base of a wedding cake. Best a day or two later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is a very moist cake, turned out great. I only had sweetened coconut on hand so I reduced the white sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Next time I will go down to 1 1/4 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This recipe came out perfect. I didn't have any coconut extract so I used vanilla. The top finished sweet, crunchy and a bit chewy, like to sugar carmelized. So, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umma Threads
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I found this cake to be pretty tasty but I had the same problem some others noted in that the cake did not rise. I think my baking powder was pretty old so that may have been the problem. The cake was very dense but good anyway. I made the same changes suggested by others - reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup, used only 4 eggs and put the coconut in the food processor before adding to the batter. I also substituted coconut oil for the butter, which helped boost the flavor. Will probably try it again - with a new can of baking powder this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very rarely will I give a five star rating. This cake is amazing (and I've debated 4 or five stars). Instead of butter, I used an equal part (1 cup) of unsweetened apple sauce. The only butter that came in contact with this cake was the amount I used to grease up the pan (less than a table spoon) and I used Cane Sugar as my sugar. I got so many compliments for this cake. It is too bad I didn't make two ( as I have a mother's day event to go to today). You can't help to want to eat more of this (and don't feel as guilty with the apple sauce... still a little guilty because of all the sugar). Yummmuy! Will have to expirement more... (Oh and I used unsweetened conoconut flaks if anyone was wondering). She said to use a 10" fluted bunt pan but I only found 9" in stores... Used it, still had plenty of space. Very moist cake. Yumyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This cake is so good! Everyone in the house raved! Will be my go to from scratch recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Cake was good! It did overflow in the pan I used and stink up the kitchen for awhile...then it turns out no one in my family likes coconut...oh well, more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States