Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I love this cake! I have made this cake a couple of different ways. I cut the sugar by 1/2, use 1/2 cup coconut oil in place of the butter and also add 1 cup light coconut milk instead of buttermilk. I also only use 4 eggs. The first time I did not put coconut in the cake and my family loved it. The next time I used light coconut cream and half milk instead of buttermilk and added 1/2 cup of coconut flakes. The coconut flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I added coconut milk instead of the buttermilk yum Bette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This cake is fantastic! I made it as a two-layer cake with coconut-cream cheese frosting (also from this site) for a friend's birthday and it was a hit with all the guests. Like other reviewers I only used 4 eggs and substituted vanilla extract for coconut flavoring because I didn't have any. Also used homemade buttermilk by adding 1 tablespoon of vinegar to 1 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This a a very yummy cake. I did add a package of vanilla pudding and it turned out wonderful. So nice to have a good cake recipe that doesn't come in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
A huge, moist, delicious cake. I add a glaze made with shredded coconut, coconut rum, and powdered sugar, and this cake disappears like it's in a magic show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This got such rave reviews I had high hopes. Not sure what happened but the cake was like lead it was not light at all. I was embarrassed to serve it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Really moist cake. I am French and American knows How to make and bake excellent cake and pies, always moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE! My family loved it and it was very simple to make. I made it exactly a it was written with my two 8 year old nieces and it came out perfect. It was the exact taste I was trying to d duplicate from someone I was buying this cake from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is my go to coconut cake. I make it all the time, no fail. It just doesn't slice cleanly, but everyone is always happy to lick crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensentwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I should have read more of the reviews first, but I followed it to the tee & it they did not rise, & the tops were crunchy & insides were dry. They were missing something flavor wise also. Some people said to add baking soda also & I feel that would have been a good thing to do. Such a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States