Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This got such rave reviews I had high hopes. Not sure what happened but the cake was like lead it was not light at all. I was embarrassed to serve it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Really moist cake. I am French and American knows How to make and bake excellent cake and pies, always moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE! My family loved it and it was very simple to make. I made it exactly a it was written with my two 8 year old nieces and it came out perfect. It was the exact taste I was trying to d duplicate from someone I was buying this cake from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is my go to coconut cake. I make it all the time, no fail. It just doesn't slice cleanly, but everyone is always happy to lick crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensentwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I should have read more of the reviews first, but I followed it to the tee & it they did not rise, & the tops were crunchy & insides were dry. They were missing something flavor wise also. Some people said to add baking soda also & I feel that would have been a good thing to do. Such a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I made sure I cream the butter and sugar until the sugar was disolved, then added the eggs one at a time until they were completed incorporated. I added the extract to the buttermilk and mixed a little flour into the egg mixture then a little buttermilk, etc. I did add a chocolate glaze to the top and sprinkled with more coconut. 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I had to change this a little because of what I had on hand. I used 1 cup milk with 1 Tbsp. vingegar to substitute the buttermilk and only used 1 cup of sugar, as I didn't want a really sweet cake. I also pulsed the coconut in the food processor for a few seconds. That being said the cake was good. The flavor was nice, but it was very crumbly. I made 2 8" rounds and split them to make a layer cake and they were falling apart as I split them. I frosted the cake with a white chocolate frosting and added toasted coconut between the layers with the frosting. It tasted good, but fell apart as I was cutting into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I love this recipe! It's fast and easy and comes out so moist every time. I've made it 4 times already and each time I change it up a bit. The first time, I added banana, the second I made a chocolate buttercream frosting. The next I added almonds, and this time I added marshmallow and walnuts. It's a great base cake that I will use again and again. Next time I'm going to add pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I am not as impressed with the over all out come of the cake. My first problem was that the recipe did not include an icing recipe. Then the cake seemed not to rise as well as it should and I even lined my tube pan with waxed paper to keep it from sticking and it was a little stuck to the waxed paper. I was making this for a co-worker of my husband and was not sure if I wanted to give it to him or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Follow the recipe, except only added 4 eggs, and my cake came out dry and crumbly.....had good flavor tho! dont know what I did wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRATTYBLUEEYES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States