Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I read most of the reviews i follow the recipe the same as listed i flour my pan more because i read people having a hard time my cake come out the pan perfect when u make.the cake you have to do the dry ingredients I'm guessing when you mix the dry n while sitting is what good for the cake i frostin the cake with cream cheese frostin instead of 2 vanilla i use one of each coconut n vanilla the cake was very good to me.dry but still this cake was so good good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Gaines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was really great. I made it mostly word for word. I did add coconut extract 2T, and coconut instant pudding ( 2 small boxes), everything else exactly the same. I am not even a fan of coconut anything- i made this for a friend who is, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I love this cake. However I went with the comments and reduced the sugar to 1 3/4 cups, I also added one teaspoon to baking soda and one teaspoon of vanilla extract too. The taste was divine! However I don't know what I did wrong because the cake fell in the centre. Maybe it was because I used a deep pan? Definitely using this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ree
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My cake came out only 3 inches high but the taste was a big hit for my Chef husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I love this cake! I have made this cake a couple of different ways. I cut the sugar by 1/2, use 1/2 cup coconut oil in place of the butter and also add 1 cup light coconut milk instead of buttermilk. I also only use 4 eggs. The first time I did not put coconut in the cake and my family loved it. The next time I used light coconut cream and half milk instead of buttermilk and added 1/2 cup of coconut flakes. The coconut flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I added coconut milk instead of the buttermilk yum Bette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This cake is fantastic! I made it as a two-layer cake with coconut-cream cheese frosting (also from this site) for a friend's birthday and it was a hit with all the guests. Like other reviewers I only used 4 eggs and substituted vanilla extract for coconut flavoring because I didn't have any. Also used homemade buttermilk by adding 1 tablespoon of vinegar to 1 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This a a very yummy cake. I did add a package of vanilla pudding and it turned out wonderful. So nice to have a good cake recipe that doesn't come in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
A huge, moist, delicious cake. I add a glaze made with shredded coconut, coconut rum, and powdered sugar, and this cake disappears like it's in a magic show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This got such rave reviews I had high hopes. Not sure what happened but the cake was like lead it was not light at all. I was embarrassed to serve it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States