Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Yum! Just made this cake as cupcakes and they're delicious -- and I haven't even frosted them yet! I baked them for 20 minutes which was perfect in my oven. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups as suggested and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla because, really, vanilla makes everything better! The coconut flavor is perfect, not overwhelming but flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
My husband loves coconut, and I started making this cake for him on his birthday the year we met - I just popped it in the oven a few minutes ago for the seventh year in a row! The only modification I make to the recipe is adding a box of instant vanilla pudding mix to up the moistness factor. It is definitely a rich dessert, so a tiny sliver is all I need to be full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
DO NOT MAKE THIS CAKE. Disaster! Find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I read most of the reviews i follow the recipe the same as listed i flour my pan more because i read people having a hard time my cake come out the pan perfect when u make.the cake you have to do the dry ingredients I'm guessing when you mix the dry n while sitting is what good for the cake i frostin the cake with cream cheese frostin instead of 2 vanilla i use one of each coconut n vanilla the cake was very good to me.dry but still this cake was so good good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Gaines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was really great. I made it mostly word for word. I did add coconut extract 2T, and coconut instant pudding ( 2 small boxes), everything else exactly the same. I am not even a fan of coconut anything- i made this for a friend who is, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I love this cake. However I went with the comments and reduced the sugar to 1 3/4 cups, I also added one teaspoon to baking soda and one teaspoon of vanilla extract too. The taste was divine! However I don't know what I did wrong because the cake fell in the centre. Maybe it was because I used a deep pan? Definitely using this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ree
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My cake came out only 3 inches high but the taste was a big hit for my Chef husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I love this cake! I have made this cake a couple of different ways. I cut the sugar by 1/2, use 1/2 cup coconut oil in place of the butter and also add 1 cup light coconut milk instead of buttermilk. I also only use 4 eggs. The first time I did not put coconut in the cake and my family loved it. The next time I used light coconut cream and half milk instead of buttermilk and added 1/2 cup of coconut flakes. The coconut flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I added coconut milk instead of the buttermilk yum Bette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This cake is fantastic! I made it as a two-layer cake with coconut-cream cheese frosting (also from this site) for a friend's birthday and it was a hit with all the guests. Like other reviewers I only used 4 eggs and substituted vanilla extract for coconut flavoring because I didn't have any. Also used homemade buttermilk by adding 1 tablespoon of vinegar to 1 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States