Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I hate coconut, but I wanted to make this cake for a friend. I am puzzled by the reviews that said they had a hard time getting cake out of pan? The one seasoned baker said the cake needed soda. Why did the majority of the cakes turn out perfectly (mine included)? Did they use buttermilk that was lowfat? Coconut not mixed in well? (I added mine to the flour mixture). Sugar and butter not mixed long enough??? According to my friend and my family, it came out moist and wonderful. Anyone have an idea?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
A great, moist coconut cake, it made a big hit at work. I read member comments and modified the original by reducing sugar to 1 1/2 cups, and also added a box of vanilla instant pudding, 1 tspn of vanilla extract (in addition to the coconut), 1 tspn of baking soda, and a small can of (drained) crushed pineapple. It was done in 50 minutes, and came out of the pan perfectly. I glazed it with warmed (microwaved) cream cheese packaged icing, then topped it with coconut flakes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I think that this recipe has the potential to be really great but its missing something. I bake all the time and I was very sad when my cake didn't rise. It was very packy and like others the top cooked first and it was hard to get out of the pan and had this greasy texture to it. After searching high and low for a coconut cake and consulting with other baking friends I think that baking soda is what is missing. Will try again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Wow! I made this cake at home for my Easter dinner. I drove 230 miles with it in the backseat of the car. It was easy to pack and everyone loved it. I didn't put any frosting on it, but I did change a few things. I used cake flour, I put the flake coconut in the food processor for a minute, and I used coconut milk. Did I get a piece of cake? No, I just enjoyed everyone telling me what a wonderful cook I am. Thanks Dannis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
Great flavor, Dannis. The ladies at my church luncheon really went nuts over this cake. I added a 3.5 ounce box of instant coconut pudding to the mix, and whirled the coconut in my food processor to avoid the "chunkiness" of the coconut. It made for a luscious flavor and texture. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I loved this cake! I was happy to find a coconut cake that didn't require a mix! I cut the sugar by 1/3 cup. I made it in two 9" rounds and it made a beautiful layer cake. A couple of things to keep in mind - this cake is dense - but so delicious. Another thing, you really do need to grease your pan(s) well. One of my layers came apart, so I did some restructuring. The pan that I greased really well came out perfectly. I got so many compliments on this cake - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
This is too sweet for us! I have to cut down the sugar to three quarter cup but I'm using sweetened flaked coconut, otherwise this cake is truly very very good, moist and delicious! Worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANFREE
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
I love this recipe, since I found it, I have made more than I can count. I always take at least two to work and leave one at home. I add vanilla extract, sometimes half teaspoon more coconut extract or pina colada flavoring,fold crushed or chunk pineapple into the batter, and BAM! Then, use a rum glaze and oh boy! I have joined the health club because of this cake, oh yeah, I cut out the flakes for those who don't like them and it is still wonderful, moist. I am trying to make a perfect chocolate rendition because it is so moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
Coconut lovers will enjoy this easy to make, tasty, very moist cake. My family enjoyed this cake, but did comment that it was very sweet. I think I will cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups next time I make it and eliminate one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Made this for Easter Sunday...was very good. Had several requests for a chunk to take home and a request for the recipe. I didn't use nearly as much coconut as called for because I wasn't sure everyone would like the strong coconut influence...and was great anyway. The longer it stays in the fridge, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States