Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is an excellent recipe - it is very moist and has converted a lot of non-coconut cake eating people to eat coconut cake. It is also easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
The cake was very moist and morish. Lovely the next day with a cup of tea or glass of cold milk. Did not use the coconut extract or salt and i used half fat milk and not buttermilk and it was still delicious. Well worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
What a disastor. I made this cake and followed the instructions exactly. The top burned before the insides could cook. I ended up throwing it out. I dont knwo what i did wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This cake turned out so perfectly moist, and was a beautiful yellow gold on the inside. I doubled the coconut extract, made two rectangular layers, and spread Coconut Pecan Frosting I between the layers. I decorated it with toasted pecans and powdered sugar, and served it as a birthday cake to a friend (who is a big coconut fan). Coconut-'haters' were converted! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I never really cared for coconut until I tried this recipe. But wow! It was really yummy! I make this all the time now. I bake them as cupcakes instead of a whole cake so I can make sure everyone gets a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Not really sure what went wrong with this recipe. I added all the ingredients, just as they were listed. But I had an awful time getting it to come out of the pan (yes I thoroughly greased and floured). Plus the cake had a greasy texture. Not at all appealing. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANFREE
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
I love this recipe, since I found it, I have made more than I can count. I always take at least two to work and leave one at home. I add vanilla extract, sometimes half teaspoon more coconut extract or pina colada flavoring,fold crushed or chunk pineapple into the batter, and BAM! Then, use a rum glaze and oh boy! I have joined the health club because of this cake, oh yeah, I cut out the flakes for those who don't like them and it is still wonderful, moist. I am trying to make a perfect chocolate rendition because it is so moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Wow! I made this cake at home for my Easter dinner. I drove 230 miles with it in the backseat of the car. It was easy to pack and everyone loved it. I didn't put any frosting on it, but I did change a few things. I used cake flour, I put the flake coconut in the food processor for a minute, and I used coconut milk. Did I get a piece of cake? No, I just enjoyed everyone telling me what a wonderful cook I am. Thanks Dannis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This cake was EXTREMELY dense. I was frustrated because I had a difficult time getting it out of the pan (despite greasing and flouring well) and a difficult time frosting it. It just wanted to crumble. I didn't bake it any longer than it needed for the toothpick to come out clean. I added every item as called for, and in order. I'm not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
My sister in-law made this cake yesterday and the chunk she sent home with us is long gone. Awesome recipe!!! I just came on to print out a copy for myself and I can't wait to make it. Thanks meme for turning me on to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States