Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
What a disastor. I made this cake and followed the instructions exactly. The top burned before the insides could cook. I ended up throwing it out. I dont knwo what i did wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This cake turned out so perfectly moist, and was a beautiful yellow gold on the inside. I doubled the coconut extract, made two rectangular layers, and spread Coconut Pecan Frosting I between the layers. I decorated it with toasted pecans and powdered sugar, and served it as a birthday cake to a friend (who is a big coconut fan). Coconut-'haters' were converted! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I never really cared for coconut until I tried this recipe. But wow! It was really yummy! I make this all the time now. I bake them as cupcakes instead of a whole cake so I can make sure everyone gets a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Not really sure what went wrong with this recipe. I added all the ingredients, just as they were listed. But I had an awful time getting it to come out of the pan (yes I thoroughly greased and floured). Plus the cake had a greasy texture. Not at all appealing. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANFREE
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
I love this recipe, since I found it, I have made more than I can count. I always take at least two to work and leave one at home. I add vanilla extract, sometimes half teaspoon more coconut extract or pina colada flavoring,fold crushed or chunk pineapple into the batter, and BAM! Then, use a rum glaze and oh boy! I have joined the health club because of this cake, oh yeah, I cut out the flakes for those who don't like them and it is still wonderful, moist. I am trying to make a perfect chocolate rendition because it is so moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Wow! I made this cake at home for my Easter dinner. I drove 230 miles with it in the backseat of the car. It was easy to pack and everyone loved it. I didn't put any frosting on it, but I did change a few things. I used cake flour, I put the flake coconut in the food processor for a minute, and I used coconut milk. Did I get a piece of cake? No, I just enjoyed everyone telling me what a wonderful cook I am. Thanks Dannis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This cake was EXTREMELY dense. I was frustrated because I had a difficult time getting it out of the pan (despite greasing and flouring well) and a difficult time frosting it. It just wanted to crumble. I didn't bake it any longer than it needed for the toothpick to come out clean. I added every item as called for, and in order. I'm not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
My sister in-law made this cake yesterday and the chunk she sent home with us is long gone. Awesome recipe!!! I just came on to print out a copy for myself and I can't wait to make it. Thanks meme for turning me on to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This recipe is great. I put the cake out and it was gone in 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Jungbluth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
Great flavor, Dannis. The ladies at my church luncheon really went nuts over this cake. I added a 3.5 ounce box of instant coconut pudding to the mix, and whirled the coconut in my food processor to avoid the "chunkiness" of the coconut. It made for a luscious flavor and texture. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States