Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Wow! I made this cake at home for my Easter dinner. I drove 230 miles with it in the backseat of the car. It was easy to pack and everyone loved it. I didn't put any frosting on it, but I did change a few things. I used cake flour, I put the flake coconut in the food processor for a minute, and I used coconut milk. Did I get a piece of cake? No, I just enjoyed everyone telling me what a wonderful cook I am. Thanks Dannis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This cake was EXTREMELY dense. I was frustrated because I had a difficult time getting it out of the pan (despite greasing and flouring well) and a difficult time frosting it. It just wanted to crumble. I didn't bake it any longer than it needed for the toothpick to come out clean. I added every item as called for, and in order. I'm not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
My sister in-law made this cake yesterday and the chunk she sent home with us is long gone. Awesome recipe!!! I just came on to print out a copy for myself and I can't wait to make it. Thanks meme for turning me on to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This recipe is great. I put the cake out and it was gone in 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
Great flavor, Dannis. The ladies at my church luncheon really went nuts over this cake. I added a 3.5 ounce box of instant coconut pudding to the mix, and whirled the coconut in my food processor to avoid the "chunkiness" of the coconut. It made for a luscious flavor and texture. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Made this for Easter Sunday...was very good. Had several requests for a chunk to take home and a request for the recipe. I didn't use nearly as much coconut as called for because I wasn't sure everyone would like the strong coconut influence...and was great anyway. The longer it stays in the fridge, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This was the best coconut cake I had. My frinds liked it, it was very moist cake but I cut the sugar and eggs as suggested by MARY DOMAZ. I also think I will cut the butter as well next time I will make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
A big hit at the family gathering. The cake was eaten up quickly, even by the 15 year old girl who supposedly doesn't like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
this cake is wonderful and my family and co-workers love it. i use a copper bundt pan and it comes out goldrn brown and something to be proud when serving guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
I made this for my family, and they all raved, even those that didn't like coconut. I put a coconut frosting over it and then sprinkled coconut over that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States