Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I think that this recipe has the potential to be really great but its missing something. I bake all the time and I was very sad when my cake didn't rise. It was very packy and like others the top cooked first and it was hard to get out of the pan and had this greasy texture to it. After searching high and low for a coconut cake and consulting with other baking friends I think that baking soda is what is missing. Will try again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Made this cake for Valentine's Day...turned out very moist and was a hit with my boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is an excellent recipe - it is very moist and has converted a lot of non-coconut cake eating people to eat coconut cake. It is also easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
The cake was very moist and morish. Lovely the next day with a cup of tea or glass of cold milk. Did not use the coconut extract or salt and i used half fat milk and not buttermilk and it was still delicious. Well worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
What a disastor. I made this cake and followed the instructions exactly. The top burned before the insides could cook. I ended up throwing it out. I dont knwo what i did wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This cake turned out so perfectly moist, and was a beautiful yellow gold on the inside. I doubled the coconut extract, made two rectangular layers, and spread Coconut Pecan Frosting I between the layers. I decorated it with toasted pecans and powdered sugar, and served it as a birthday cake to a friend (who is a big coconut fan). Coconut-'haters' were converted! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I never really cared for coconut until I tried this recipe. But wow! It was really yummy! I make this all the time now. I bake them as cupcakes instead of a whole cake so I can make sure everyone gets a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Not really sure what went wrong with this recipe. I added all the ingredients, just as they were listed. But I had an awful time getting it to come out of the pan (yes I thoroughly greased and floured). Plus the cake had a greasy texture. Not at all appealing. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANFREE
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
I love this recipe, since I found it, I have made more than I can count. I always take at least two to work and leave one at home. I add vanilla extract, sometimes half teaspoon more coconut extract or pina colada flavoring,fold crushed or chunk pineapple into the batter, and BAM! Then, use a rum glaze and oh boy! I have joined the health club because of this cake, oh yeah, I cut out the flakes for those who don't like them and it is still wonderful, moist. I am trying to make a perfect chocolate rendition because it is so moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Wow! I made this cake at home for my Easter dinner. I drove 230 miles with it in the backseat of the car. It was easy to pack and everyone loved it. I didn't put any frosting on it, but I did change a few things. I used cake flour, I put the flake coconut in the food processor for a minute, and I used coconut milk. Did I get a piece of cake? No, I just enjoyed everyone telling me what a wonderful cook I am. Thanks Dannis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States