Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very good! I loved it, and so did everyone else (that likes coconut). It tastes best the first day or two - the taste and texture deteriorates a bit after that. I couldn't resist eating some warm out of the oven. Awesome! I ought to mention that I used natural dried grated coconut, not angel flake, so it was in tiny pieces, and unsweetened. The recipe seems to be intended for this type of coconut. If you use the grated coconut, you will not need to cut back on the amount of sugar, or chop the coconut in the blender. I hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This cake was easy to make and very delicious, but whatever frosting I used with it was way too sweet. So I guess it's good to be careful when choosing a frosting recipe. It was kind of hard to get the coconut to stick on the edges but eventually it worked and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this cake for Christmas and it was ABSOLUTELY delicious. Everybody loved it and put in their orders immediately. My husband loved it, my dad loved it and I loved it, especially. I will definitely be making this cake again real soon. It was very moist. I added a regular sized box of coconut cream Jell-O pudding mix. I will decrease the sugar, though, by 1/2 cup next time as well. Other than that, it's a WINNER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elba, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This cake was great! The only things I changed were that I used vanilla sugar instead of coconut extract because I couldn't find any and used grated coconut. It turned out perfect and very moist. I put a cream cheese frosting on top and sprinkled with coconut. I can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VENGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
A great, moist coconut cake, it made a big hit at work. I read member comments and modified the original by reducing sugar to 1 1/2 cups, and also added a box of vanilla instant pudding, 1 tspn of vanilla extract (in addition to the coconut), 1 tspn of baking soda, and a small can of (drained) crushed pineapple. It was done in 50 minutes, and came out of the pan perfectly. I glazed it with warmed (microwaved) cream cheese packaged icing, then topped it with coconut flakes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have coconut extract so I used 1/2 tsp. almond extract and 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract. It had good flavor, but the outside of the cake came out a little crispier than I would have liked. Still, I will make this again when I'm in the mood for coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This cake is very easy to make, and it is moist and delicious. I used 1-1/2 cups sugar as another reviewer suggested. Next time I will use 2 teaspoons coconut extract, and I'll run the flaked coconut through a processor to see what happens. I got a wild hare to make this about 9pm last night, and it went together so quickly that I was in bed by my regular time, with the cake finished and in a cake carrier, and the kitchen all cleaned up. My cake baked in 50 minutes, but that's probably because my bundt pan is professional-grade heavy cast-aluminum. In any case, I advise testing the cake at 50 minutes, because you don't want it to be dry. I took this to an early morning meeting, and everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Excellent! I followed one suggestion and glazed the cooling cake with reduced apricot preserves, to facilitate a healthy sprinkling of additional flaked coconut. I also put a small amount of coconut into the prepared pan, which I've done for other coconut cakes to provide a slightly caramelized crusty topping to the finished cake. All in all, a great cake with lots of coconut flavor, nice texture and color! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I thought this was DELICIOUS just make sure you GREASE and FLOUR the pan, because I accidentally flopped it. ALSO: wait until cool otherwise, it won't look too pretty. Otherwise; two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I made this cake for a friend of mine who requested something with coconuts in it. I baked 2 cakes: a 7-inch and a 3-inch (round). I cut the recipe in half. Only had to bake it about 20 minutes in these types of pans. Rises nicely. I greased and floured the pans and the cakes slipped out of them very easily. I used "best white icing ever" from this website and added a half-cup of finely grated coconut to it. She loved it. Oh and also, I used coconut rum instead of coconut extract because I couldn't find any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States