Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
i use 4 eggs only , it can be use as a base for many frosting cakes , very moist i use 3 -9 inches pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
My new favorite cake! I've made cupcakes with this twice. The first time I made a coconut cream cheese frosting which was a bit much. The second time I used chocolate frosting - delicious! My 3 year son prefers them plain and will eat 3 cupcakes in a row. People who said they didn't like coconut loved these. Amazing, wonderful flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Really enjoyed this cake. Used coconut milk in place of buttermilk, and a tsp of vanilla instead of the extract. Also frosted it with a coconut buttercream frosting. We thought this cake was perfect for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
The cake was alright. I think I'll keep searching. If I try it again I'll take someone's suggestion of grinding the coconut in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very good! I loved it, and so did everyone else (that likes coconut). It tastes best the first day or two - the taste and texture deteriorates a bit after that. I couldn't resist eating some warm out of the oven. Awesome! I ought to mention that I used natural dried grated coconut, not angel flake, so it was in tiny pieces, and unsweetened. The recipe seems to be intended for this type of coconut. If you use the grated coconut, you will not need to cut back on the amount of sugar, or chop the coconut in the blender. I hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This cake was easy to make and very delicious, but whatever frosting I used with it was way too sweet. So I guess it's good to be careful when choosing a frosting recipe. It was kind of hard to get the coconut to stick on the edges but eventually it worked and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this cake for Christmas and it was ABSOLUTELY delicious. Everybody loved it and put in their orders immediately. My husband loved it, my dad loved it and I loved it, especially. I will definitely be making this cake again real soon. It was very moist. I added a regular sized box of coconut cream Jell-O pudding mix. I will decrease the sugar, though, by 1/2 cup next time as well. Other than that, it's a WINNER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elba, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This cake was great! The only things I changed were that I used vanilla sugar instead of coconut extract because I couldn't find any and used grated coconut. It turned out perfect and very moist. I put a cream cheese frosting on top and sprinkled with coconut. I can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VENGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
A great, moist coconut cake, it made a big hit at work. I read member comments and modified the original by reducing sugar to 1 1/2 cups, and also added a box of vanilla instant pudding, 1 tspn of vanilla extract (in addition to the coconut), 1 tspn of baking soda, and a small can of (drained) crushed pineapple. It was done in 50 minutes, and came out of the pan perfectly. I glazed it with warmed (microwaved) cream cheese packaged icing, then topped it with coconut flakes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have coconut extract so I used 1/2 tsp. almond extract and 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract. It had good flavor, but the outside of the cake came out a little crispier than I would have liked. Still, I will make this again when I'm in the mood for coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States