Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This cake is so good! Everyone in the house raved! Will be my go to from scratch recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Cake was good! It did overflow in the pan I used and stink up the kitchen for awhile...then it turns out no one in my family likes coconut...oh well, more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My rating is with these changes. After taking other reviews into consideration and a few alterations of my own, I think these substitutions make the best cake: 4 eggs 1-1/4 cup sugar 1 tbsp coconut extract 2 cups coconut apple sauce instead of butter coconut milk instead of buttermilk 3/4 tsp baking soda 3/4 tsp baking powder Chop coconut in hand blender. Best if made in 2 layers. For frosting: make pudding and set aside, seperately melt dark chocolate with remainder of coconut milk. When cool, add pudding mix (just powder). Mix this mixture into pudding. Or: Beat cream of coconut with cool whip and pour over cake. Cover with shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
The cake was very tasty but I was disappointed that it was dense. I also had a hard time getting it out of the pan. I followed some of the recommendations by cutting back to 4 eggs and on the sugar by 1/2 cup. It came out good but the recipe could use some improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Excellent! Great moist texture, not too sweet (I followed advice of others and cut sugar by 1/2 c). This is definitely a keeper. I also made a simple cream cheese frosting/glaze that went very well with the cake. This will be a fun recipe to play with as it will make an excellent base for many variations. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I will definitely use it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gidget

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
off the charts!!!!!!!!!! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANITASINGS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I too cut the sugar down a half cup and baked in a bundt cake pan. Topped with a dusting of confectioners sugar. Really enjoyed this and will definitely make again. Perhaps I will increase the coconut extract a half teaspoon next time. Smells so good in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Very moist, good texture. I only added 4 eggs and it has an eggy-taste, so glad I didn't put the 5 in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
5 stars. This cake was very easy and delicious. It is a real keeper.I made a white icing with coconut extract and them put coconut all over the cake. I will be making this again next week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
7 6 10 Followed suggestions, adding a teaspoon baking soda, one less egg, half cup less sugar, half teaspoon more coconut extract, adding a teaspoon of vanilla extract. It stuck to the pan big time. I ended up mixing the cake & (cream cheese) frosting together. I used a cookie scoop to tray them. Drizzled melted chocolate chips (with a little shortening after it was melted) over & sprinkling with shredded coconut. The cake, before I crumbled it, was pretty good. Sweet enough with reduced sugar. I'd add the egg, too. Mine was low in the middle (the part not touching the pan). I think the denseness problem would be caused by not mixing enough between egg additions. I think the additional egg would solve it. I used a cup of unsweetened coconut & extract, but t still wasn't very coconutty-storebrand extract. The coconut babies I made were not bad. I think chocolate frosting would have been better since it was more like a candy than cake. Tasted similar to what's left in the cake pan after the cake is served. :? :) They were pretty. Served them on a silver tray. Birthday candles stuck in pretty well. They were still quite sticky so I dipped the bottoms in graham cracker crumbs. Refrigerated them before & after scooping to help retain the shape. Oh, if you use the mixer when adding the coconut, be prepared to scrape it off your beaters. Not a big deal, but realize it will need it. And, an hour is too long. 'About forty five minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States