Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I found this cake to be pretty tasty but I had the same problem some others noted in that the cake did not rise. I think my baking powder was pretty old so that may have been the problem. The cake was very dense but good anyway. I made the same changes suggested by others - reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup, used only 4 eggs and put the coconut in the food processor before adding to the batter. I also substituted coconut oil for the butter, which helped boost the flavor. Will probably try it again - with a new can of baking powder this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very rarely will I give a five star rating. This cake is amazing (and I've debated 4 or five stars). Instead of butter, I used an equal part (1 cup) of unsweetened apple sauce. The only butter that came in contact with this cake was the amount I used to grease up the pan (less than a table spoon) and I used Cane Sugar as my sugar. I got so many compliments for this cake. It is too bad I didn't make two ( as I have a mother's day event to go to today). You can't help to want to eat more of this (and don't feel as guilty with the apple sauce... still a little guilty because of all the sugar). Yummmuy! Will have to expirement more... (Oh and I used unsweetened conoconut flaks if anyone was wondering). She said to use a 10" fluted bunt pan but I only found 9" in stores... Used it, still had plenty of space. Very moist cake. Yumyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This cake is so good! Everyone in the house raved! Will be my go to from scratch recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Cake was good! It did overflow in the pan I used and stink up the kitchen for awhile...then it turns out no one in my family likes coconut...oh well, more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My rating is with these changes. After taking other reviews into consideration and a few alterations of my own, I think these substitutions make the best cake: 4 eggs 1-1/4 cup sugar 1 tbsp coconut extract 2 cups coconut apple sauce instead of butter coconut milk instead of buttermilk 3/4 tsp baking soda 3/4 tsp baking powder Chop coconut in hand blender. Best if made in 2 layers. For frosting: make pudding and set aside, seperately melt dark chocolate with remainder of coconut milk. When cool, add pudding mix (just powder). Mix this mixture into pudding. Or: Beat cream of coconut with cool whip and pour over cake. Cover with shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
The cake was very tasty but I was disappointed that it was dense. I also had a hard time getting it out of the pan. I followed some of the recommendations by cutting back to 4 eggs and on the sugar by 1/2 cup. It came out good but the recipe could use some improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Excellent! Great moist texture, not too sweet (I followed advice of others and cut sugar by 1/2 c). This is definitely a keeper. I also made a simple cream cheese frosting/glaze that went very well with the cake. This will be a fun recipe to play with as it will make an excellent base for many variations. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I will definitely use it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gidget

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
off the charts!!!!!!!!!! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANITASINGS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I too cut the sugar down a half cup and baked in a bundt cake pan. Topped with a dusting of confectioners sugar. Really enjoyed this and will definitely make again. Perhaps I will increase the coconut extract a half teaspoon next time. Smells so good in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Very moist, good texture. I only added 4 eggs and it has an eggy-taste, so glad I didn't put the 5 in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States