Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I made sure I cream the butter and sugar until the sugar was disolved, then added the eggs one at a time until they were completed incorporated. I added the extract to the buttermilk and mixed a little flour into the egg mixture then a little buttermilk, etc. I did add a chocolate glaze to the top and sprinkled with more coconut. 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I had to change this a little because of what I had on hand. I used 1 cup milk with 1 Tbsp. vingegar to substitute the buttermilk and only used 1 cup of sugar, as I didn't want a really sweet cake. I also pulsed the coconut in the food processor for a few seconds. That being said the cake was good. The flavor was nice, but it was very crumbly. I made 2 8" rounds and split them to make a layer cake and they were falling apart as I split them. I frosted the cake with a white chocolate frosting and added toasted coconut between the layers with the frosting. It tasted good, but fell apart as I was cutting into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I love this recipe! It's fast and easy and comes out so moist every time. I've made it 4 times already and each time I change it up a bit. The first time, I added banana, the second I made a chocolate buttercream frosting. The next I added almonds, and this time I added marshmallow and walnuts. It's a great base cake that I will use again and again. Next time I'm going to add pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I am not as impressed with the over all out come of the cake. My first problem was that the recipe did not include an icing recipe. Then the cake seemed not to rise as well as it should and I even lined my tube pan with waxed paper to keep it from sticking and it was a little stuck to the waxed paper. I was making this for a co-worker of my husband and was not sure if I wanted to give it to him or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Follow the recipe, except only added 4 eggs, and my cake came out dry and crumbly.....had good flavor tho! dont know what I did wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRATTYBLUEEYES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Turned out PERFECT!!! I used 4 eggs, regular milke instead of buttermilk, and self-rising flour so I got to leave out the baking power and salt to make the recipe easier. I took it to my grandpa's 93rd birthday it was gone in 4 minutes. Everybody LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Delicious and moist! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babooshka76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Really, really good! I think it needs a touch of vanilla, but other than that, it's pretty darn good the way it is. Holds up really well - used it as the base of a wedding cake. Best a day or two later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is a very moist cake, turned out great. I only had sweetened coconut on hand so I reduced the white sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Next time I will go down to 1 1/4 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This recipe came out perfect. I didn't have any coconut extract so I used vanilla. The top finished sweet, crunchy and a bit chewy, like to sugar carmelized. So, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umma Threads
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States