Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I added coconut milk instead of the buttermilk yum Bette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This cake is fantastic! I made it as a two-layer cake with coconut-cream cheese frosting (also from this site) for a friend's birthday and it was a hit with all the guests. Like other reviewers I only used 4 eggs and substituted vanilla extract for coconut flavoring because I didn't have any. Also used homemade buttermilk by adding 1 tablespoon of vinegar to 1 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This a a very yummy cake. I did add a package of vanilla pudding and it turned out wonderful. So nice to have a good cake recipe that doesn't come in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
A huge, moist, delicious cake. I add a glaze made with shredded coconut, coconut rum, and powdered sugar, and this cake disappears like it's in a magic show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This got such rave reviews I had high hopes. Not sure what happened but the cake was like lead it was not light at all. I was embarrassed to serve it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Really moist cake. I am French and American knows How to make and bake excellent cake and pies, always moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE! My family loved it and it was very simple to make. I made it exactly a it was written with my two 8 year old nieces and it came out perfect. It was the exact taste I was trying to d duplicate from someone I was buying this cake from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is my go to coconut cake. I make it all the time, no fail. It just doesn't slice cleanly, but everyone is always happy to lick crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensentwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I should have read more of the reviews first, but I followed it to the tee & it they did not rise, & the tops were crunchy & insides were dry. They were missing something flavor wise also. Some people said to add baking soda also & I feel that would have been a good thing to do. Such a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I made sure I cream the butter and sugar until the sugar was disolved, then added the eggs one at a time until they were completed incorporated. I added the extract to the buttermilk and mixed a little flour into the egg mixture then a little buttermilk, etc. I did add a chocolate glaze to the top and sprinkled with more coconut. 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States