Coconut Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Okeechobee07
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I love this recipe. It was my first time baking coconut cake and I have to say it was so good. The cake turned out so delicious. I frosted it with buttercream-coconut frosting. My boyfriend loved it so much too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a RAVE!!!!! EVERYONE LOVED IT!!! IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A DELICIOUS RECIPE THAT WILL GET EVERYONE WILL WANT MORE.....IN MY OPINION THIS IS IT!!!????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I don't know what the fuss is about unless you purchased one of those cheap aluminum tube pans which are not made for genuine baking. I also bake all the time and I had zero problem. I made two of them at the same time...one in a 10" tube pan and another in a bundt pan. My bundt pan is a good quality one and so is my tube pan. I used the spray with flour and butter in it for the pan and covered it thoroughly. It is important to use enough to completely cover the pan. Then I put it all in the pans and baked it for an hour and 15 minutes to ensure both were done. I checked them both at an hour and neither was ready to remove. 15 minutes more and they were perfect. I allowed them to cool in the pan enough to remove them easily and voila! Two perfect cakes. One for home and one for a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Yum! Just made this cake as cupcakes and they're delicious -- and I haven't even frosted them yet! I baked them for 20 minutes which was perfect in my oven. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups as suggested and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla because, really, vanilla makes everything better! The coconut flavor is perfect, not overwhelming but flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
My husband loves coconut, and I started making this cake for him on his birthday the year we met - I just popped it in the oven a few minutes ago for the seventh year in a row! The only modification I make to the recipe is adding a box of instant vanilla pudding mix to up the moistness factor. It is definitely a rich dessert, so a tiny sliver is all I need to be full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
DO NOT MAKE THIS CAKE. Disaster! Find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I read most of the reviews i follow the recipe the same as listed i flour my pan more because i read people having a hard time my cake come out the pan perfect when u make.the cake you have to do the dry ingredients I'm guessing when you mix the dry n while sitting is what good for the cake i frostin the cake with cream cheese frostin instead of 2 vanilla i use one of each coconut n vanilla the cake was very good to me.dry but still this cake was so good good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Gaines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was really great. I made it mostly word for word. I did add coconut extract 2T, and coconut instant pudding ( 2 small boxes), everything else exactly the same. I am not even a fan of coconut anything- i made this for a friend who is, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I love this cake. However I went with the comments and reduced the sugar to 1 3/4 cups, I also added one teaspoon to baking soda and one teaspoon of vanilla extract too. The taste was divine! However I don't know what I did wrong because the cake fell in the centre. Maybe it was because I used a deep pan? Definitely using this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ree
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My cake came out only 3 inches high but the taste was a big hit for my Chef husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States